We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vietnam highlight”

Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
Afternoon Countryside Bike Tour from Hoi An
Ranked #2 of 143 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself for a half day or a full day into native Viet Nam. This bicycle tour will take you far away from the beaten tracks. You will discover the genuine customs and traditions of the Vietnamese peasants. You will long remember these unforgettable moments spent in the heart of traditional Viet Nam. A truly unique experience.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vietnam highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

What to say that hasn't already been said? An undisputed highlight of a holiday to Vietnam. Educational but great fun, you WILL see a side of Vietnam that you would not normally witness. Lan and Me were terrific guides, so chatty and fun and always interested in us. There were many highlights of the Vietnamese Countryside morning tour, but surely the best was when we got a shot paddling in a basket boat. It's not easy! And as for the floating bridge - what an experience!

A delicious lunch was included. A terrific way to learn about the country and how people earn a living in the countryside. If you're in Hoi An, then do not miss these tours. Next time, I will definitely do one of the overnight homestay tours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smileysmile18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,964
    212
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another "stand-out" highlight of our Vietnam trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked this tour after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. This is one of the stand-out highlights of our trip to Vietnam. We had Lan and My as our tour guides, both girls were so lovely, both had very good English and were a wealth of information. The tour itself was unique, from the local ferry trip with our bikes, cycling through the local villages and countryside, visiting a variety of local craftsmen, morning tea at a local shop, tried our hand at a basket boat, lunch at a local house, and with two of the greatest girls of Hoi An. We enjoyed our day out immensely and would highly recommend as a "must do" to anyone visiting Hoi An.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best day you will spend in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Cycling through the villages and paddie fields, across numerous bamboo bridges (definitely a unique experience), lunch at a family home, refreshments with the locals along the way and completely away from the tourist areas, scooters and constant horns.

We spent a day with Lan and Be from heaven and earth cycling the full day countryside tour, what a fantastic experience we only wish we had time to have booked more.

The cycling is excellent, the full day isn't really for those who haven't cycled before but easy enough for those who have a little experience, (cycling around the paddie fields was such fun). The trip is so exilerating and beautiful that you don't notice the miles passing you by (or the rain). We visited many places and had a taste of the farming culture which is Vietnam. This is the only way to see what a beautiful country vietnam is and how wonderful and welcoming the people are.

Our guides, Lan and Be were not only excellent guides but wonderful characters and both were very knowledgeable about the areas we visited. I don't think I have ever met anyone who speaks a second language as well as Lan did, accents as well, amazing!!

This day will stay with us forever, not only for the people we met on our journey but also for our guides who made this so unforgettable, I just hope that one day we can offer the same hospitality to them as they did to us.

Heaven and Earth definitely lived up to it's name and if we ever return to Vietnam we will definitely be using this company again (probably a home stay next) Absolutely the best activity we did during our 3 weeks travelling through Vietnam.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We did this tour (8 of us) on a whim - so glad we did. Lan and My were our guides who were great fun but also very informative about the areas we visited. Lan's english was excellent and she almost treated us as her pupils (even though most of us are in our young 50's!) but it did make us more attentive.

After taking a ferry across to the island we cycled through small villages, stopped for lunch then tried to paddle a basket boat, great fun! All in all this is a fantastic tour full of laughter, intrigue and beautiful scenery.

The tour was enlightening, we were so glad we did it as a lot of things we saw (old traditions of making carvings and mats) will not be around much longer as the next generation are working in the towns and cities. It was made all the more enjoyable by Lan and My who are absoltutely lovely ladies with a great sense of humour and with always a smile on their faces.
Don't miss this tour when visiting Hoi An.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nannymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What an adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked with Heaven and Earth based on the "Real Vietnam" trip agenda, which was a full day tour through the villages. Whilst this was a scheduled tour it was effectively a private tour for our family of four.
They picked us up from our hotel by taxi and delivered us to the office. Our guide Lan was a real livewire, a super cool, go go young lady who was ready for anything. She had an assistant Tien, who was lovely, and studying English so working here gave here the opportunity to practice her English and we chatted away whilst pedaling.
We went down the river by boat for about 45 minutes and started riding on one of the islands. It was pretty flat riding on quiet roads and pathways. At one point we needed to cross a river but the bridge had been washed away. No problem for Lan, straight on the mobile phone to the boss, Pascal, who was nearby and had organised a boat to take us across. Boats come in many sizes and this one was small; very small. One man paddling, one bike and one person at a time, with about 50 mm of freeboard keeping the water and the occupants apart. 30 minutes and 6 trips later we were all on the other side and away we went again. We covered some miles that day and had a lot of fun. The stops to see things like the ice factory, the boat builders and the wood carving were quite interesting. Trying to paddle the conical boat was a great laugh. Lunch was good as another tour was at the lunch house stop and the banter between the guides was most amusing, as was the "leaning" game they played with the boys. An interesting aside, when the floods come they move everything in the house upstairs; first is the television, then grandma. Probably the same order of priority in our house.
A great day out, but I was pretty weary by the end of our ride. One downside was the bikes, which were getting a little tired and in need of some maintenance. Still happy to recommend this tour to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness and readiness for a little adventure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Redi4anotheradventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Heaven and Earth Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing