We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly...fun moments...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thuan Tinh Island

Thuan Tinh Island
Ranked #7 of 120 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly...fun moments...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Tour took us to visit the main point on the island: visit the farm on boat along the river. Interesting to see them control the boat with their feet. The cooking section was amazing. We had fun moments. Recipes were all very nice and we were given a printed copy of every recipe we made to take home. The staff were all very friendly!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArturMalicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    75
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could this be the same place in previous reviews?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

After reading some reviews, I took the riverboat to this island and was surprised to see the facility in a rundown state. It looked as if the people who operates it still have hopes of its former glory days to come back. Maybe that day will come cause if it does then only will this place be given better rating

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dr0thman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great trip with a cooking experience on the side. The trip to the local food market was interesting and informative - great to buy the food you later cooked. Boat trip was very pleasant and an interesting walk around the island before cooking. We saw the traditional method of separating rice husk from the grains, making rice milk, and a little canoe ride to the village with a drink and rice crackers in a village home.
Cooking class was basic but fun and we enjoyed the food and had too much lunch and too many passionfruit juices!! Must do if you have a spare day in Hoi An.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn0911_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We did this cooking tour when we first got to Hoi An and loved it. We learned a lot about the food and more about Vietnam. I would defiantly recommend it to people visiting Hoi An.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend Luke and I took a private cooking class while in hoi an and it was absolutely fantastic. After being picked up by taxi we went to the local market to buy our ingredients and then stopped off at a local herb farm where we got to pick our own herbs. The class took place in an open bamboo hut along side a beautiful beach and we can honestly say that we enjoyed every single minute. The food is delicious and so easy to make once you know how. Lovely tour guide, very knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommended tour!!

Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Moo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuan Tinh Island also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Tinh Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing