We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best evenings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SAKURA Hoa Anh Dao HOIAN

SAKURA Hoa Anh Dao HOIAN
Ranked #549 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grans, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hoi An is certainly one of my best experiences in Vietnam and this restaurant so well situated along the river is a good part of it - we ordered a regional meal and it was really a treat : tasty, full of flavours, original. We really has a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vhp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    117
    67
    41
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely space, adequate food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a really enjoyable evening here with my family. It's a really nice place to be, has a good choice of wine and the Vietnamese food is OK if not particularly memorable. It was our first time sampling local Hoi An specialties, all of which were pretty good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“The driest chicken to date.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The only redeeming factor of this place was the nice view and non-intrusive wait staff. Give it a wide berth. Also the wine was not cellar-ed properly and was verging on vinegar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david_barwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stopped here as Morning Glory across the road was closed. the restaurant was empty at 2.30 pm except for one other couple but in spite of this the two dishes we ordered (fresh spring rolls and a plate of mixed Vietnamese starters) took 35 minutes before they arrived on the table. When they did arrive they were pretty tasteless and insipid.We will not be returning here and cannot recommend it to other visitors. The service was no better than the food. The only positive:a nice river view which we had plenty of time to admire !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No good if you're hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Don't go here if you're hungry!
We had to wait about ten minutes for a table which we actually didn't mind as we specifically requested a seat on the balcony overlooking the river and we had to wait for them to clear a table (we couldn't actually understand why we'd had to wait once we sat down though as there was an empty table on the balcony). When are table was finally ready we almost lost it as the waitress showed another couple, who had arrived after us, to the table. One of the other waiters quickly noticed this error though and we were seated.
15 minutes later and we were still seated, no one approached the table at all. No drinks order, no food order, nothing.
At this point we obviously left but the thing that was most annoying about the experience was that the staff didn't even realise. They all said goodbye and thank you as we were leaving, not one of them noticed that we had left after not being served. Even when we spoke to the manager as we left to tell him why we were leaving he simply smiled and said thank you.
Can't comment on the food (obviously) but the service is shocking compared to everywhere else in Vietnam.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAKURA Hoa Anh Dao HOIAN also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to SAKURA Hoa Anh Dao HOIAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing