We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food, best service”

STREETS Restaurant Cafe
Ranked #39 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: STREETS Restaurant Cafe features contemporary Vietnamese and International cuisine, in a beautifully restored Hoi An building which was designed to complement the warm and attentive service.All our guests have the added satisfaction of "Dining for a Cause" STREETS is an innovative social enterprise for street kids and other disadvantaged youth. Our HoiAn restaurant and regional training center provide a comprehensive 18-month culinary and hospitality program.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food, best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had been recommended Streets by a delightful Dutch couple we had met at another restaurant the night before and we are so grateful the sent us there! The restaurant is a little way out of the buzzy area and doesn't look much from the outside so we would never have gone without recommendation. Our meal was the best since we've been in the country - I started with squid rings and followed with the most exquisitely presented river fish fillet in a spicy ginger sauce. My wife had a spicy beef noodle starter and a chicken coconut curry and we shared a coconut ice-cream with a pineapple 'drizzle' - wonderful. Their home made 'sangria' hit the spot too and our bottle of Pinot was half the normal price of other local restaurants where the cost a bottle of something drinkable has made up two thirds of the entire bill! Our young waiter was an absolute delight and obviously took great pride in the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,996
    575
    118
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soup-er”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely soup, stuffed with fresh herbs. A table by the road gives you a view perfect for people watching.Great value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tedonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant got an excellent location. Easy to find out. Staffs would recommend and offer fantastic food with ranges of choice and price. Almost of them could speak English pretty good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We did the market tour with the trainee chefs which was fascinating and then had lunch at the restaurant. I loved watching the trainees shop for the food and then explain to us what it was they had bought and how they would prepare it.
Lunch was lovely
service was great
yes it was slightly more expensive than the street stall - this would be for a number of reasons! They are training these disadvantaged kids, they provide them with food, clothing, somewhere to live, medical care, they teach them basic life skills and hygiene so they have a higher overhead - and its still cheap food by western standards!

We sat in comfort, were waited on, chatted with the trainees who were very interesting and who didn't mind us asking questions about their culture. and had a lovely meal

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Risk your credit card being blocked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the food and service, so much so that we went back a second time. However, after paying by credit card for the second meal it was blocked. I am adamant that I used the correct pin as I had done all along during our vacation, but the terminal kept saying the pin was incorrect. Their staff then said this was normal, encouraged me to just enter it thrice and then force payment by signature. This indeed worked, but after my return home my credit card company informed me that my card was blocked.
I have contacted the management about this upon my return but they said this was normal and also did not offer any form of compensentation.

So enjoy this restaurant but don't trust their credit card terminal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed STREETS Restaurant Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to STREETS Restaurant Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing