We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING INDIAN FOOD”
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
Ranked #36 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING INDIAN FOOD”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Sounds crazy to be eating Indian in Vietnam but there is a high population. Food amazing but we are learning that drinks don't come fast. took over 30mins to get a scotch and soda, then they brought out coke and then a gin and then I gave up and drank whatever! Goan fish curry (med) was amzaing with big chunks of fish. to die for!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank balibaby3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,775
    495
    87
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ganesh Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and myself asked the Fusion Maia Hotel management if there was such a thing as a decent Indian Restaurant in Hoi An, they highly recommended the Ganesh.
Being Glaswegians we are used to very high quality Indian food, the flavours and spices were out of this world, we had one chicken tikka starter between us, one madras curry, one chicken jalfrezi, one paulo rice, one fruit rice, one garlic nan bread and three bottles of beer, total cost was 453,000 dongs, £15.
The garlic nan was the best we have ever tasted and my jalfrezi was superb, easily the best I've tasted.
We would highly recommend this restaurant, best meal of the holiday by far.
Jack and Sandra, Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved the huge range of choices including beef, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options. The garlic nan is wonderful. The local Da Latte Chardonnay is better with ice added and goes quite well with the curries. You control the amount of chilli that is added. Medium is easy to eat so that if you want 'hot' you have to order 'hot'. This is an inexpensive restaurant on the outskirts of the ancient city. Please tip; the waiters are poor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great authentic Indian food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great find! We are of Indian origin and can confirm that the food here is fantastic and very authentic. There is a wide variety of choice and the portions are big. It makes a great change when one wants a change from Vietnamese food. Go for the food and not the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPandRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Quality food and drink (the Lassi), big portion sizes and cheap cheap. Would 100% go again, probably the best restaurant in Hoi An.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing