We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you're hanging out for a curry.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
Ranked #32 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“When you're hanging out for a curry.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Second time to our favourite city in Vietnam and after having eaten local food for ages just had a hankering for a good curry. 5 minutes spent on T.A. and discovered Ganesh, which was only a 10 min. walk from our hotel.
Pretty ordinary decor was soon overlooked by some excellent food. We played safe and ordered the butter chicken, aloo paneer and a whopping garlic naan. We were quite surprised at the quality of both dishes as we had not eaten Indian before in Vietnam. They were superb!
Since returning home this is one of the meals we talk of most....When in Hoi An please give it a go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,725
    482
    84
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The sort of curry you could eat from most high street restaurants in London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unlike lots of other people, I think the quality of food was acceptable but not great.It's the sort of curries that you could eat in many restaurants in London. The sauces don't tend to have any particular subtlety and have relatively uniform tastes. As others have said the quantitites are large, however, and it does provide an amazingly cheap, filling meal if that is what you are looking for

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ians002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Had a great meal! Authentic. The nan breads are wonderfull. The sauces are rich, perfumed and thick.
I was only disapointed by the Rice pudding- lack spices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestiola2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent, delicious food, great service, good price...best curry in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I ha've just returned from an amazing meal at ganesh. The food was fantastic, the best curry I have had whilst travelling and it is so refreshing to eat some good chicken !!! I know us brits have high standards with chicken and meat but the meat here was so good.
Service was excellent, very polite, great English and helpful.
Price was slightly higher than we are used to but still in no way overpriced.
The restaurant was full capacity but food still came quicker than everywhere else we have eaten...and all four of us received our food at the same time!!!
Would return in a heartbeat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blissackerman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Mixed Vegetable Pakora”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Problem #1 was that a full 1/4 of the items in this dish weren't veggies at all, but battered and deep fried paneer, an Indian style cheese I don't like in any way, shape or form. The menu gave no hint that the mixed veg pakora plate was actually a mix of veg and paneer. The veggies were a disappointment, too. A couple fo slices of potato just didn't do it. Two whole red chili peppers seemed like an odd thing to include. The cauliflower was okay. The batter on all of these items wasn't a bit crsip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing