We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe too famous, under expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bale Well

Bale Well
Ranked #97 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe too famous, under expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

maybe it is in the top list of restaurant in Hoi an
when i came in afternoon, i only want try to grill prok satay but nth else
but they only offer set mean but no other choice, i think it is not really friendly
and the set meal is full but not as good as some local restaurant
they should provide more choice of food
and you can see their staff treat western tourism more better than asian tourism
they don't even talk with me when i ask for something

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isaacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    509
    132
    77
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Local Goodness - come hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from Bale Well this evening and can't recommend it enough. A little bit out of the old town but food is great and portions are huge. Even had a little demo by the owner on how to eat it all. Some others have mentioned it is expensive but at $5 pp inc a beer we thought it was justified. Will be going back when we return to Hoi An

Helpful?
Thank jonnydunkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Vietnam!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

All you can eat for a couple of pounds! Absolutely delicious! Staff are very welcoming!!! Perfect lunch time feed :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grilled satay down a little alley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Go through the dark narrow street and you will see a little food restaurant with no frills and some outside tables. Within seconds you are seated, food is put in front of you and then you are even shown how to roll the satay in the rice paper with various salads and sauces. You cannot finish all the food and there is also a dessert. It is very busy and people will be waiting so go early or later in the evening. The owner even came up to us to check if we enjoyed our meal and thanked us. Lovely experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimib2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had found a reference to in one of the travel guide books and went to it with our world traveling party of 3 :)

You have to walk through a somewhat narrow street and then turn immediate right. At first, we were a bit concerned with the location. An open, small restaurant in a back street. However, the food was absolutely amazing.

Warning...The owners will prepare the food for you with their bare hands if you look like you don't know what you are doing.. so be gracious and eat. It's worth it. None of us our trip got remotely sick.

It's a fixed menu and you get a ton of food... we were just plain stuffed afterward.

What can I say.. I love Vietnamese food and this was as real as it got:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bale Well also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bale Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing