We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #355 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Book a table for dinner upstairs at the front, and watch the floating candles glide down the river. Great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    97
    61
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
240 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Hoi an specialties delicious”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went for lunch overlooking the water and discovered the local hoi an specialties which is white rose , a clear delicious dimpling and cua something noodles, large wontons with crab which was a surprise and looks like nachos on presentation with a lovely tomato sauce . Our neighbours had a shrimp dish in a banana leaf that I would try next time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My dad and I came here for lunch when we discovered Morning Glory was closed for the low season- and turned out excellent. Food was delicious- especially the beef cooked in a banana leaf! Nice view of boats in the river. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LWichinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi/vietnam
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“again and again”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we know them since 7 years and keep coming back, its location is great, staff is well trained despite most of them left the restaurant, food is still great. Do not forget the banana leaf buckets drinks

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Banana Leaf - nice location, average service and food.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I visited this restaurant as part of a tour group - Intrepid Vietnam. This restaurant is set across the road opposite the river which is a nice location. The service was very average, the staff friendly enough, but not as good service as we had received in other restaurants. The food was OK. I ordered the 'Beef in Lot Leaf'. I tried this, and it looked like a square beef patty wrapped in a leaf. The taste was ok but pretty bland... it was an average meal compared to other meals I had had in Hoi An. Drinks were as per most vietnam Restaurants, a plethora of fresh juice choices which i loved, and cheap cheap beer :) All in all an average meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGTurnbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing