We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food- best in vietnam”

Son Hoian Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food- best in vietnam”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been to Vietnam on 7 occasions. We have found the food at Son the best we have tried and very reasonable price. They were originally over the river and have now moved across the road. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    178
    41
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just like eating in someone's home!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night and loved the place. When we arrived the family was having dinner outside. They happily welcomed us and served us a cold local beer. After mulling over the menu for some time we decided on the nostalgic spring rolls first. A very good start - they were delicious. We didn't order from the special menu and went with white rose, fried won ton and stir fry beef. All was served by a different menu of the family and was very tasty. During our meal the puppies were running around with family members chasing them, water was delivered and dishes were done. It was like eating in someone's home - but I guess you essentially are! I am sure the specialty items are fantastic and I would definitely go back to try them. We biked there and when paying the bill they got our bikes from the street and parked them in the driveway for us - a special touch which we appreciated. We also got a complimentary special dessert but perhaps that is done regularly. In any case, it was good.
Stop in and have a meal, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank jolliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Vietnam so far”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner, had the cassava salad, fishermans fresh spring rolls, beef in lolot leaf and duck with orange. Food was brilliant. Have been in Vietnam for 7 days so far and this is the best we've had. Great place with nice gardens and a river view. A couple of friendly restaurant puppies and cats wandering around too!

Helpful?
Thank RickMagaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local and one of the best”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Son restraint was close to our accommodation.
We were exploring the area when we simply walked past it.
Deciding to stay close to the hotel we walked down the road and had possibly the best meal of our Vietnam trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterh672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had dinner there tonight, excellent service and food and drinks. Nice Family run restaurant, the two daughters smiling, happy and speak good English. Really enjoyed the Pho and Papaya Salad.
Very nice atmosphere across the road from the river. One of the nicest we have been to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing