We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in beautiful location”

Son Hoian Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food in beautiful location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and were so taken with it that we came back twice. Really delicious home cooked Vietnamese food overlooking the river. The people who run it are lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kutlerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    178
    41
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Son Hoian”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just finished dinner at Son Hoi an. This was a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and helpful with our meal selection, and the food was superb. If you would like to experience quality food that is different to the standard Vietnamese restaurant food, this is the place to visit when in Hoi an. My wife had the Cassava Salad and I had the Grilled Duck Leg with Orange Sauce and both meals were sensational. We decided not to have dessert, but at the end of the meal the waiter brought out a beautiful herbed green tea and a small sweet banana. This was a perfect way to finish a magnificent dinner. The Trip Adviser 2013 rating is well deserved. Don't miss this wonderful restaurant when visiting Hoi an.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean Fresh Simple 5 Star”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Well presented simple Vietnamese Food with a slight Twist .Great Service .We had the Seafood Noddles and the Sunrise Salad for lunch and two fresh lime juices for only $12

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayThorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Loved this place”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After reading all the great reviews on TA, my wife and I went to have dinner at this restaurant.
We were happily surprised by the setting and the friendliness at arrival. We both tried a few vietnamese specialties which we hadn't had before and the waiters explained how we should eat these which was really nice. The food it fantastic, so tasteful and well presented. And very reasonably priced.
I think we will return tomorrow and try some more dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackNy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two nights in a row Son was amazing”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Son currently has two locations down the street from each other (they are in the process of moving to just one), and I visited each one on two separate nights. The first night me and my girlfriend were the only ones there as we arrived a bit late. Staff (owner) was very kind, and engaging. Food was amazing, and we received free tea and mango at the end of the meal. ( usually nothing is free in Vietnam). So good that we went to the other Son the next night. It was equally as delicious, and staff was so kind. I highly recommend, and I am a New Yorker who had eaten at hundreds of restaraunts

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing