We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little family style restaurant”

Son Hoian Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 825 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
St George
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great little family style restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We liked this little friendly restaurant so much that we ate here twice. If you like seafood, and home style food served to you in a friendly authentic atmosphere this is the place to go. Definitely no high end frills, it's all about the food!!! This place was recommended to us, and we were not disappointed. In fact when we went back again for the second time, we recognised the same travellers sitting next to us from the previous time we were there. They also thought it was worth a second visit. What more can I say!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    182
    41
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, tasty meals Vietnam style”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was opposite our hotel - Hoi An Trails and you would miss it if you dont look for the sign. My first impression was the furniture needs updating as from the outside it looks a bit outdated, however when they brought the food it was delicious, well presented and very tasty. The husband is the cook and the wife is front house and she explained the food and how they eat this. She even demonstrated and showed us the vietnam way on sharing and wrapping the food - rice rolls. The food was to die for very fresh and tasty and cheap. The fish in the banana leaf was mouth watering and we tried the egg plant hot pot in a clay pot this was also so tasty. I have to be honest we travelled on for another couple of weeks in Vietnam and I have not tasted food as good as this since. The couple are young but they both have a real skill and you must try this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice classy ambience by lake”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This family restaurant has great atmosphere and the lake beside it gives it a view. I like the fact that they preserved some old heritage tables The service is good and they speak reasonably good English. The pho is excellent, one of the best in Hoi An, so are the seafood dishes which are very fresh and skillfully prepared. All in all a very classy and tasteful place which serves traditional Vietnamese food. A great place for a date if you ask me, with just a slight touch of romance. I came in the afternoon for lunch and it was nice and quiet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sipsapsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Food was best I have had in Vietnam.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

On the river, the feeling of being in a small village. Food was fresh and very tasty. Will be back lots before we leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Red_Till
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As Son slow food was opposite our hotel, we decided to try it and are very glad we did. It was so good we returned 2 nights later. My husband believed the snapper in banana leaf was the best fish dish he'd ever had. I adored the eggplant hot pot. On our second visit we had the duck in orange sauce and me I had to have the eggplant again...divine. Tam and her husband are wonderful hosts which heightened the evenings pleasure. On the second night we experienced the most wonderful desert, sticky rice cakes with coconut in a passionfruit sauce..

Thank you to our hosts

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing