We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Son Hoian Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 808 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

As I was in Hoi An to check it out for tours, the NZ chef at The Nam Hai recommended this restaurant.
The food and service were great and so reasonably priced.
The seafood was fantastic and the wine so was well priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    179
    41
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience in all Southeast Asia”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were treated like garbage and this made us suspect the quality and integrity of the food they serve.

Staff failed to serve us after repeated requests to be served. They even stared at us while we were waiting and just sat down and ignored us. Worst of all was the short haired waitress who was picking her nose as we walked to our table. After bringing our spring rolls, we asked her to take our main order and she snapped "in a moment!". Then, she failed to return. We looked at her and she turned her back on us and went and sat down.

I will say the spring rolls were not bad, but the service ruined the experience of eating them.

If you want more details, just go and try it yourselves. You will see.!

If you want an amazing restaurant, go out to Water Wheel in the herb village of Tra Que or try Bale Well in town where they really know how to treat customers. Or even the Cargo Club, which is a little more expensive but way worth it compared to this joke of a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dkjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great setting, good food and wine”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I loved this place for chilled, good wine at decent prices, good food and beautiful setting. On asking for the freshest seafood on the day, the recommendation was shrimp cooked in coconut and served in the shell. A very good choice, the shrimp was very fresh.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Riverside delight”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Son Hoi An was recommended to us by an Aussie living in Hoi An.
The restaurant is actually built over the river so this is real waterfront dining.
The menu is inviting and the service most attentive. When I found that the restaurant did not accept credit cards and I thought I may not have enough money the owner drove me on her motor scooter to an ATM.
The riverfront setting is captivating, perfect for pre and post dinner drinks. the food is superb, Try the fish grilled in banana leaf.
Didn't need the motor scooter ride as the bill was well within our original cash resources.
The problem with Hoi An is there are so many great places to eat but Son Hoi An is up with the best.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is a little gem half way between Hoi An Beach and the Old Hoi An City. The beach hotels all have buses going to and from the Old City so just get them to drop you off and pick you up.
The seafood hotpot was outstanding in fact we visited this place twice and had very good dishes each time. The wine list was also good with an outstanding Chilean Sav Blanc.

You can just sit in a deck chair and watch the river go by and have a vino if you like.

Good service a little slow but then who's in a rush..............

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HigginsTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing