We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but expensive”

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 806 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had dinner there. We booked the table in the morning and we got upstairs inside. Food was good, salads, Fish all are very nice. Not so fantastic and a bit pricey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandySydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,453
    2,816
    1,055
    279
    174
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome intro to Vietnamese cuisine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's pretty obvious upon entering Morning Glory that it's an ex-pat place. The day we went, only Westerners were in the restaurant that has modern styling and an open-air feel and open kitchen in the front. I was a little nervous about the lack of locals but my attention was quickly turned to the mouth-watering food that was delivered to our table. ( We had taken some friends' advice and ordered many of the appetizer-sized portions so we could have a good sampling.) The fried fish on a sugar can stick was awesome, the chicken and rice dish divine and the rolls were finger-licking good. It was fun for the kids to see the employees making rice paper. It was a great place to eat and we would go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanBlanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It wasn't too bad...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Food was pretty nice. We got a 5 spice caramel pork belly. It was nice but not very caramelly. Salad that came with it was quite nice. Service was a bit so so. Not bad but not great. Kind of on the dearer side of vietnamese food.

Helpful?
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mmmmm......”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Lots of reviews, lots of hype, lots of recommendations. Did it deliver? Mmmmm....no, not really. There, I've said it
Jooloos had a variety of the vegetarian dishes, and to be fair, she enjoyed them. Big Will shared with Jooloos and I had the Sea bass. The overriding opinion was that it was a bit, erm... Bland. The service was also indifferent, which did not help, and we came away with the impression that they are living upon their reputation and not trying too hard.
Also, what's all this open kitchen, street food malarkey? There is an open kitchen in the centre of the ground floor but, as we observed, most of the food is prepared by the army out back.
Sorry, really wanted it to be better and good luck to all those who rave-on.
Btw a new sink in the gents wouldn't go amiss.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely resturant great food a little pricey”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

A great resturant to go to for very good food and a nice warm atmosphere. The service was prompt and polite. The food was beautifully presented. For us it was a special treat to go there. We had to book the previous e vening as it is so popular.

Helpful?
Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing