We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Glory Restaurant

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate here based on friend recommendations and it certainly lived up to the hype! Definitely book before going to avoid waiting for a table as it is very popular. The food is to die for, everything we tried was sensational. The flavours and portion sizes were great. The place has a great atmosphere in a cute old style home/shop. The staff are super helpful and welcoming. We will definitely return here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddSunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,934
    2,565
    944
    244
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Too much tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This restaurant is one of the most famous of Hoi An. It is recommanded in several guides, as a consequence there are a lot of international customers. Food is traditional and very good but too expensive compare to local restaurants, the atmosphere is not "local".
Well, if you want to eat traditional vietnamese food, you won't be disappointed but if you want to have your meal on the Vietnamese way...find another place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelphineDty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After a busy morning in the shops of Old Town in Hoi An, this is a perfect spot to recharge. We had a selection from the hawker-style menu, but the other bigger dishes looked good too. The dishes came out separately and when one had to be assembled (think rice paper to wrap your own rolls), the waitress carefully explained what was required without making me feel an idiot for not knowing. The green ginger tea comes with ginger on the side to add as much as you want. Watch some of the cooking being done in the centre of the restaurant while you wait, or just look out the front door and do some people watching.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy, but great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was definately the busiest restaurant we went to in Hoi An, but we still had great service and food! It is reasonably priced for the delicious Vietnamese cuisine on offer. We saw this described as 'street food' for those not willing to actually try 'street food'. I guess this is probably true as it seemed to be all the types of dishes we had seen around the streets but cooked in a restaurant environment!

I would definately dine here again and would recommend to anyone in Hoi An.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLM1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent a few days in Hoi An and we enjoyed a lot local food. We tried a few of most rated eateries and Morning glory really worth a visit. Frankly I do not understand negative comments especially about prices and portion size. All dishes we tried were even too abundant and even if is possible to find several much cheaper restaurants, prices are still very reasonable and adequate to a good quality food, nice environment and good service. With 8,00 EUR is possible to have a complete meal and this the equivalent of a sandwich in an European city...
We did enjoyed fresh spring rolls, meat balls with noodles, pumpkin, etc. plus Hoi An classics.
An excellent restaurant though not our best meal in Hoi An.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing