We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time round! ( didn't think that was possible)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Restaurant

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 670 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Even better second time round! ( didn't think that was possible)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here and had a fantastic meal, so we went back for our final meal in Hoi an after 9 days. The food is amazing, best Sea Bass we have had, so good we had it twice. The Vietnamese Roast Chicken was flavourful and the beef stew with baguette was lovely. It's gets understandbly book up so book ahead and enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brits_in_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,976
    2,148
    755
    193
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food in South Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We love to cook, eat and enjoy our food experience so it is very easy to give this fantastic restaurant a great review. The food is superb! We ate there on a few occasions during our stay in Hoi An and tried other places for comparison but nothing met the cuisine of the Morning Glory ... although the cappuccinos and chocolate croissants of the related Cargo cafe opposite were also wonderful. Not cheap, by Vietnam standards, but oh so well worth the time and money. Book early for a balcony seat if you're travelling as a single or couple as people-watching is a wonderful part of the experince in this delightful town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food in great location in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of four visited this restaurant twice in 4 days after reading about it on TA. Reasonably priced, tasty dishes served in good time. Waiting staff were helpful and attentive. The second time we prebooked the table outside on the street which was divine. It was cooler than inside as well as providing the entertainment of watching the world go by. We also bought the cookbook ($40) which was hand signed by the owner of Morning Glory. It is a stunning book of lovely recipes as well as detailing the memoirs of Vy's life - a great momento.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmyjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hoi an - best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

So we went in here for lunch and expected fresh and delicious food. That is exactly what we got. From chicken skewer entre to dumplings and meatball with noodles. It was all to die for. Massive thumbs

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiLi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Loved the open kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What I loved most about this restaurant was the open kitchen in the center of the restaurant...I also had the pleasure of meeting Ms Vy, as she was in the restaurant on the evening we were dining. I purchased a copy of her street food cookbook for my husband and asked her to sign it...he loves it!!

The restaurant does cater well for crowds and is always busy, so I advise that you make a booking if you don't wish to be disappointed. We were turned away one evening as we didn't have a booking, so we made sure we booked for the next night :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing