We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoi an - best”

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 823 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Street Food Restaurant owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hoi an - best”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So we went in here for lunch and expected fresh and delicious food. That is exactly what we got. From chicken skewer entre to dumplings and meatball with noodles. It was all to die for. Massive thumbs

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiLi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,548
    2,871
    1,079
    283
    181
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Loved the open kitchen”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What I loved most about this restaurant was the open kitchen in the center of the restaurant...I also had the pleasure of meeting Ms Vy, as she was in the restaurant on the evening we were dining. I purchased a copy of her street food cookbook for my husband and asked her to sign it...he loves it!!

The restaurant does cater well for crowds and is always busy, so I advise that you make a booking if you don't wish to be disappointed. We were turned away one evening as we didn't have a booking, so we made sure we booked for the next night :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant, located in the centre of Hoi An's old town is an example of Vietnamese cuisine at its very finest. It is reasonably priced for Hoi An, which is slightly more expensive than the rest of Vietnam. Of the many excellent meals we had in Vietnam, this was possibly the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This place delivers”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant handles crowds very well. It was crowded yet service was great and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the namesake dish - never had morning glories before!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good and very popular. It is authentic and delicious, the prawns in coconut, pork belly and crab wontons are guaranteed winners. They also had a beautiful organic Sicilian Pinot Grigio for $30, which is a bargain in Vietnam.
There are so many average restaurants in town, you will definitely be happy with this one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bond010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing