We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Vietnamese fusion food”

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Canberra
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Vietnamese fusion food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We actually dined at Morning Glory for lunch and enjoyed it so much that we went back for dinner. The food was exceptional in my view, traditional dishes but with a modern twist, and in a great atmosphere. For dinner we had pork spring rolls, chicken thighs on skewers and cao lau noodles (a local specialty) washed down with a savignon blanc. We sat out on the upstairs balcony watching the world go by - really lovely evening. When we dined here for lunch we sat downstairs and watched the chefs making the noodles and pancakes - awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,355
    2,762
    1,037
    271
    167
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth It”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We wondered if this restaurant would actually be worth the cost (even tho still cheap by Australian standards), and wait (you need to book in advance), when the food at most places had been excellent. We were very impressed with the detail and presentation of each of the dishes and the flavours were amazing. Had eaten White Rose (a shrimp dumpling) at a number of other restaurants but here it just melted in your mouth. Worth a visit to experience a higher level of amazing Vietnamese food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must visit in Hoi An”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here with a large party of 9--4 adults and 5 kids. Always slightly worried about kids enjoying Vietnamese food but the staff was very helpful helping us select items for the kids. They even made fried rice for us which was not on the menu to please the kids, who also enjoyed the roasted VN chicken, nem rolls and VN pancake.

Adults all loved the food--great flavors and varied selections. We live in Hanoi and know good Vietnamese food and this was top rate. I particularly enjoyed the curried clams and cabbage soup. My husband's favorite was the eggplants and fried tofu.

Service was excellent, which is not easy master in Vietnam. Staff was professional, helpful and spoke good English.

Nice selection of basic wines for reasonable prices. In fact the menu items were all reasonably priced.

I gave only 3 stars for ambiance because the upstairs dinning room well lacked ambiance. The staff seemed to put families with kids upstairs which makes sense but the acoustics of the tiled floors and bare walls accentuated the noise level to sometimes stressful levels. It would be a family restaurant paradise if the setting were more like 'secret garden' or 'brothers' cafe' which both have seating in lovely outdoor spaces.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice enough!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to me, needed to book early. Restaurant was fine, food was fine, service fine, despite rave reviews I found this restaurant to be ok, but certainly nothing special! There are hundreds of restaurants in Hoi An, with better views, better food and better prices

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, if you can get a seat!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We tried to eat here the first night of our 2 night stay in Hoi An, but it was full so we booked a table for two to dine the following evening.
Boy was it worth it! The meal was really good, service was prompt and efficient, and the price was unbelievable! £22 for drinks and all.
I would highly recommend this one, excellent Vietnamese cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing