We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Restaurant

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 633 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Street Food Restaurant and Cooking School. It is owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The restaurant is housed in an old colonial building in the heart of Hoi An's Ancient Town. It has large dining areas on both floors, and a trio of tables on the balcony upstairs. The balcony boast a very nice view of the ancient city. The menu is a selection of Vietnamese street food. This restaurant is an absolute must-visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheam_aiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,644
    1,984
    689
    176
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are a number of great quality Restaurants in Hoi An and The Morning Glory is on the top of that list. Excellent Menu, excellent food along with excellent service and excellent value. When ever in Hoi An The Morning Glory is one of the must eat at places.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crispy pork belly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Seriously, the best meal we had in Vietnam. I love Vietnamese food and to be honest it was the deciding factor in choosing Vietnam over other destinations. And although it is not a true authentic dish, pork belly sure is and the way it was made was out of this work good. Chunks of five spice seasoned pork belly cut into small chunks and fried until perfectly crispy on the outside and tender and moist inside. It was served with red risotto rice uniquely made and accompanied by side order of Morning glory vegetable ( a staple vegetable in Vietnam and unfortunately hard to come by in the states).
The advanced booking necessary seemed odd for the town but after visiting, its reputation is well earned. Give it a try...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiem7147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Appetizers and Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Four of us went to Morning Glory. You usually need a reservation. It is crowded most of the time and seating is tight. All the food is fresh and plentiful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good. But over-hyped surely?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Here we go again. Another restaurant drowning in 5 star, superlative reviews. As if they were written under the influence. In the cold sober light of early evening, which is how we found it, this eatery is serving good home-style cooking (well at least when and where I was brought up in the Far East) and that's all. It's not "the best food I've eaten in Vietnam" and I hope I'll get a chance to eat somewhere much better. Sure, we've had the misfortune of eating in worse places, but also a few equally or more enjoyable meals at places we can't even see listed on TA. Tonight we had Hoi An chicken rice, tofu spring roll, fish in caramel sauce, chicken curry, bitter melon and beef broth. Prices are highish by Vietnam standards, but this is Hoi An and a celebrity chef with cookbook! Well, if everyone is raving about the food here, I need to get my dad's housekeeper and cook back to open a restaurant. She'd also be a lot tougher than me as a TA reviewer! Morning Glory has several sister eateries in Hoi An: including Cargo Club and The Market. Let's hope the proprietor and chef does not spread herself over too many places and see standards drop. So, a dependable choice but don't get over-awed by the hyperbole in many of the reviews about it here.

Helpful?
2 Thank robsekun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing