We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly one of the best restaurants in HoiAn”

Morning Glory Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 823 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Street Food Restaurant owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Mermaid Restaurant and The Market Restaurant and Cooking School.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Possibly one of the best restaurants in HoiAn”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Difficult to get a table here as its often booked up. So you may have a small wait. Fantastic Vietnamese street food brought into a modern restaurant. Great cooking school that is impeccably organized and run with a great option to purchase the cook book and life story of the owner. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,550
    2,871
    1,079
    283
    181
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrific food, a little too popular”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Morning Glory is surely the best restaurant in Hoi An, and for that reason, is also a bit of a slog in terms of reservations and noise. Voting for the air conditioning up on the second floor on a steamy night, we soon regretted the choice with its beer-hall noise levels and rowdy patrons. On our night, the larger groups were all shepherded in our direction and somehow everyone was celebrating a birthday. Downstairs might have been the wiser alternative. We liked the food enough, however, to walk out with the restaurant’s cookbook in hand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Might Have to Go There Tonight Too!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We ate at the Morning Glory restaurant. We hadn't booked, but managed to get a table for two outside the restaurant as someone was just leaving. They initially showed us upstairs, but compared to the downstairs, its a bit hot and canteen like.
The food is exquisite, and I would definitely go again, if we were staying longer in Hoi An. Vietnamese cuisine with a contemporary twist. The staff are really helpful. The only restaurant we've been in so far that has a computer booking system and someone managing the bookings at the door which shows you just how popular this place is. The booking system seems a bit chaotic as there appeared to be quite a lot of frowning and people being turned away to be told to come back in 15 minutes.
All in all, try this its a must if you are in Hoi An, but book ahead and try and eat at a less popular time to get a. a) table and b) good service without feeling too rushed, as there will be people waiting to jump in your grave the minute you leave your table,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaRoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“great entertainment; good food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The meal we made our selves at the Morning Glory cooking school was the best food I had in Vietnam. My husband is a chef, so we do not typically attend cooking classes. But this was included in our tour, and it was fun, although we did not learn any cooking skills. All of the prep work was already completed and we just assembled the food. Even so, some of our group over-wet the rice paper and had trouble rolling up the fresh spring roll. If you cannot cook, you will still be unable to cook after attending this class. It was much more of an entertainment activity than a real 'learn to cook' class.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbellehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“glorious food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We thought this would be another Lonely Planet hyped up restaurant, but it lives up to its reputation.

The food was reasonably priced, the atmospher was great and the food was delicious! It gets busy so get there early otherwise there will be waiting involved. Every time we walked past we saw people waiting, so if you have a big group, either try and book ahead or get in early.

The banh cuon and the chao tom are yummy! We're going back for lunch tomorrow to try some more food. We could only manage four dishes tonight.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hai_Eats_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Morning Glory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing