We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly nice”

Dive Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Pub, Vietnamese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In an old traditional house downtown Dive bar is where people meet people.Good music. Friendly staff and atmosphere, great choice of cocktails and beers, vietnamese and western cuisine. Cocktail classes on demand. Live music every evening, usually starting at 8.30 Pm. Open from 10 am till late at night
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We sat down for a quick beer when we noticed beef skewers on the menu and decided to order one portion as a snack. Amazingly good! The meat was tender and very well prepared and the fries were delicious too. Staff was quity busy but very attentive and nice. Great choice for a draught beer and a western dish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msvdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    94
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We found ourselves here regularly tried a few different bars and always came back to this one. Good music nice atmosphere and the best Mojitos in Hoi An. In a town of culinary delights their hotdog is not to be missed

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Decided to visit the Dive Bar for dinner and drinks. We came in at around 7pm, so it was still quite empty which I didn't mind. It started filling up shortly after 8pm. There are different choices for seating - at the bar, high tops, regular tables and straw sofas surrounding low-rise coffee tables. There is also a billiards table just past the bar. The atmosphere is relaxed and no one is hovering over you to pick up a paper napkin that you just set down.
The service was great, we asked for modifications and substitutions for some of our drinks and food items and they were happily complied with. Didn't have to wait long for the food or drinks to arrive The menu offers Vietnamese as well as western cuisine. I had a BLT with french fries while my wife enjoyed some fresh spring rolls. Both items were delicious. The drinks were done well and didn't taste diluted. Expect to pay western prices for the drinks. All in all, a great option for either a relaxed dinner or drinks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Even without electricity very good time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a great evening in this bar, smoking the shisha and mixing with different people. When the electricity went out in the entire city, acapella guitar and singing kept the good mood alive, under the romantic lights of cellphones :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamonavS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great vibe in the middle of a historic city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I stumbled across this place while booking some diving. Unfortunately the diving didn't happen due to the weather but I replaced that with a very pleasant evening in the bar with some very well cooked pasta, reasonably priced beer, live music and a mixture of people to create a good atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dive Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing