We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Villa Hoa Su

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Hoa Su
Ranked #145 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Villa Hoa Su for 4 nights. This smaller hotel is set in the most beautiful water garden with central pagoda. The swimming pool is gorgeous and very clean.
The location is good if you bike (which we did) but quite a way from everything if you walk. The service is understated and unintrusive. Mr Bond speaks good english but most of the other staff don't. Because we stayed more than 3 nights we negotiated a free airport transfer and we had a very good driver. The first night we stayed in the room above the kitchen as the other rooms were full. This was a good room but we were pleased to shift because it was noisy (generator?). The main rooms are single story and quiet.
I would recommend this hotel as it was such a beautiful setting and very restful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glandovey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped by in Hoi An on our three weeks vacation in Vietnam. Villa Hoa Sue was a recommendation by one of our previous hotels. When we booked it they said, they only have a small room available, but we took it anyway. At the end, the room was small, not very clean and dark. This was the total opposite to the nice surrounding: great pool, nice seating area, nice staff. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is also a bit outside from Hoi An - it is a 20 mins bike ride from the old city which is also not ideal. All in all, I am sure the bigger rooms are a good bet, but our stay was not really worth the money we spend (35 USD) a night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMU1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As soon as we arrived we fell in love with this little place. The rooms are Immaculate,beds are comfy and pool is heavenly! Bon who runs the Villa Hoa Su is an absolute Gentleman. You can use the bicycles(free of charge) to make the 15 minute journey into Hoi An. If you want a relaxed,peaceful stay in Hoi An then look no further.

When we return to Hoi An the villa Hoa su will 100% be our destination

Can't recommend highly enough!!

Room Tip: For the quality you get, the rooms are stunning!(standard room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimH531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent three nights with two rooms at Hoa Su. Bad weather was not helpful and I surely don't blame the hotel for it. The grounds are very, very attractive and I'm sure that the pool is wonderful on sunny days. Staff was lovely, helpful and always available, which is not always the case for small properties. Breakfast was good and friends told us that a dinner there was very good.

The rooms were probably great 5 or 10 years ago but they are pretty beat now. They smelled of mildew though the bed was very comfortable. Windows in the shower and loo needed to stay open, not great with mozzies, because the septic system had venting problems.

With a fix-up this will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Being tucked away on a smaller river, this place is ideally suited for anyone looking for a chilled out experience in Hoi An. With only a handful of rooms, there is a very cozy sense about the place which is complemented by the small friendly staff, but despite the cottage like feel of the place, the rooms are quite modern and make great use of the space.

The first impressions are largely however of the emphasis on water in Villa Hoa Su as both the dining area and the pool are each encircled by fish ponds stuffed full of massive coy fish and beautiful lilies. A real treat, particularly for breakfast when you can share your baguette with all the fish. Similarly, with the beautiful sink basin centered in the room and the awesome marble bathtub outside, there is definitely a wow factor. The only down side I can think of was that the water pump might need replacing as the pressure and hot water supply can be fairly inconsistent, but its a small price to pay for the great outdoor bathroom.

Otherwise, in terms of useful notes, be prepared for a decent but altogether slow breakfast service with limited options. Despite ordering the same thing every morning (after discarding what turned out to be instant noodles on the first day) we were always amazed to find how much time simple requests would take and moreover how positively lethal the coffee can be at the Hoa Su. For transportation though, if you dont feel like taking a bicycle, it only takes around 10 minutes to get to town by taxi and should cost 50,000 vnd for a one way trip with Mailinh Taxi.

In sum, if you dont need a massive resort to fill every small need you have on the road, this is a great option for those travelers looking to get into the chilled out spirit that makes Hoi An so wonderful

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are fairly the same as all the ones downstairs have the same layout and view, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

staff are very accomodating, the bikes are great, the food was good, the room was clean, the pool was nice to get back to after a hot day, and the people staying there were very friendly. The bike ride into town was OK and you could leave the bike at one of the clothes makers if you wanted to taxi back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellopersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'd been to Hoi An previously and stayed in guesthouses and was looking for a nice relaxing stay that was a little more upmarket. Hoa Su was without a doubt terrific value for money and one of the most relaxing places we visited on our trip. The grounds are immaculate, the staff are exceptionally helpful, both in arranging taxis and navigating around Hoi An, and the breakfast was unreal. We couldn't find a single fault with anything-the room was magnificent complete with bonus outside shower and bath. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathonPynsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0 mi away
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
#121 of 163 in Hoi An
188 reviews
0 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hoa Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su

Address: Ward No 5, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range: $66 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirt of Hoi An, by the bank of the Co Co River and in the small & tranquil village of Cam Thanh, Villa Hoa Su is a perfect countryside retreat from the hustle & bustle of city life when you are in Hoi An. Villa Hoa Su features 5 elegant rooms, all offering spectacular views of the countryside and Frangipani garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Hoa Su reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing