We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Orchid Gardens was the first place we stayed in Vietnam and the best place! A great little oasis in which to relax. Bungalows were clean and smart and the gardens surrounding were lovely. Great location between the beach and town and the free use of bikes was brilliant, we went everywhere on them. The receptionists Ruby and Mimi were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarenRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in one of their bungalows for a week in May 2012 after a tiring 19 hour train journey from Hanoi and we were dumbstruck by the contrast, so cool and clean! To call it a bungalow is bit misleading, it was so much better than we had expected- it would have been called a small villa in Spain. And immaculately clean! The photographs on their website are not misleading in any way. The pool was clean, all of the staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful in every way. The gardens are delight and it was so relaxing to sit on the verandah at night with a gin & tonic without being pestered by mosquitoes. The location is ideal: about halfway between the town and the beach. It's a quiet retreat, not a party place, ideal for couples and families. We ate out every night and we found we could safely rely on the advice of the Orchid staff but, if you like to eat in, the bungalow kitchen is up to the job. Read the other reviews for some handy tips about getting around etc.
We'd go back to Hoi An any time (didn't like Hanoi though) and we'd stay at Orchid again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Orchid Garden Homestay for six nights after some hectic days of travel. It was such an incredibly relaxing six days, we really wanted to stay longer!

They arranged for a car and driver to meet us at the airport with a sign even though our flight didn't arrive until late. The staff were all fantastic, and helped us arrange a great cooking class tour. We also rented a scooter from them, and when we got a flat tire (road debris), one of the staff came to rescue us--above and beyond!

The pictures of the rooms look very nice, but they really don't do justice to them, as they look even nicer in person. The outdoor shower was awesome. Breakfast was excellent and substantial; there are many options if you want to try something different each day. The paths are lined with beautiful flowers, mostly orchids. The pool is a lovely, cool treat on a hot day. It is located about 2km from town. It's a 5 to 10 minute bike ride on the free loaner bikes, or a pleasant 20-30 minute walk (take the first alley on your left for a much quieter route) into town.

We were also surprised to be invited to a dinner made by the owner, where we got to meet the other guests. It was amazing, local food, and it was wonderful to talk with fellow travelers and swap tips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LANABUMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved this place, mainly on the back of a free upgrade to a clean, smart, spacious bungalow and very friendly staff, but, when thinking a few gripes, can see why some would not.

It's very pretty with green, flowered gardens (orchids and the like). The room was smart and clean with 2 bathrooms, lovely wooden floors and a big comfortable bed, fantastic value for money. The outdoor bathroom felt very luxurious.

The pool is refreshing and nicely surrounded by flowers/plants but a little jammed in with 2 loungers in a tight corner; for us a pool was bonus and not a reason for booking this place or going to Hoi An at all.

The staff were so friendly and very keen to help and offer advice about Hoi An. The lady we dealt with also had the best English of anyone we met in Vietnam. It's as if they were there to facilitate a great stay and not to take money off of you.

A little way from town but taxis cheap and free bike usage, plus it's nearer the beach than a lot of places if that's your thing.

As some people have noted there is building work going on; this didn't bother us and our room didn't seem extra dusty on the back of this.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saint-penfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Homestay at the end of January after a hectic time touring both Vietnam and Cambodia. The arranged pickup from Da Nang airport was there and waiting..good start. A warm welcome was given to us when we arrived, we were allocated bungalow 8, nice and quiet, with a great outdoor bath / shower room( if you climb onto the end of the bath you can look over into the neighbours garden/ allotment), the lounge type room was superfluous for us but might suit people who stayed in more than we did.
There was some building work going on next door, but it really did not bother us at all, nor did the cockerel crowing early in the morning( we have one back in the UK), some other reviewers were upset about his crowing, the building work should soon be finished.
The breakfasts were good and substantial, really good smoothies and loads of fruit. The staff arranged an evening meal/party which all the residents attended, good way to try local dishes and get to talk to fellow travellers....really useful info was passed around.
Although the Homestay is a little way out of town , takes about 20 mins walk, taxis are only about $1 to town. Rather than going along the road outside we found that you can cut down to the really quiet walk along by the river by going down the lane where it is signed Betel Lodge Homestay just about 100m along the main road towards town, just follow this down and across the next road and you will eventually find the river route, much better for cycling aswell...persevere it's worth a few dead ends and you will use it for the rest of your stay.
The pool was brilliant after a long day out.
If you do go to My Son it is worth arranging your own transport with either MiMi or Ruby we left at 7 am and got there well ahead of the tour buses which start to arrive at 9 ish, it was heaving by the time we left , well worth the $30 to have the place to yourself for an hour and a half, really good journey there and back.
MiMi and Ruby were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble even if they were busy.
The rooms nearer the road would be noisier than where we were towards the back.
It is worth picking up,the cycle map from one of the info places in town before heading off towards the beaches, we did the cycle and only got lost once ending up in someone's back garden, and we did persuade some people to give us a lift across a channel on a small boat....the women did it whilst the men continued with their card game!
Loads to do in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back away from the road, 8 was good for us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in a bungalow. Initially we were concerned about the distance from the old town, however this was never a problem with the use of free bicycles and cheap readily available taxi's (only about $1.5 to get into town).
This lovely homestay is everything and more as per previous reviews. Make sure you book ahead as it always seems to be full.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malindaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We reserved a bungalow and requested a quiet one with an outdoor shower. Upon arrival, we were put in the family bungalow. The bedroom was next to the pool but it wasn't noisy. The "outdoor" shower simply had an open "window" above it but was still a lovely shower, just not what we were expecting. I think one of the other bungalows has a shower that is truly outside. However, I also think it is next to the rooster that crows early in the morning. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bikes are free to use which was also useful. The breakfasts were decent with choices of baguette with variations of egg preparation, fruit, cereal, muesli, yogurt or pho. The owner made dinner for all of the guests one of the nights and we all ate in good company that evening - it was very lovely. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 159 in Hoi An
567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#17 of 159 in Hoi An
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas

Address: 382 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $33 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 kilometres from Hoi An town centre and 2 kilometres from Cua Dai beach. Two hundred square meter of garden provide a setting for over 100 species and 20 hybrids. The garden is designed in natural style. The colour of the garden depend on each season with five main kind of orchids: Vanda, Renanthera, Mokara, Ascocentrum and Phalaenopsis The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas was opened on 09 January 2006 by Mr Khuong Phung. It offer a relaxing retreat in Hoi An. The unique ideal between Vietnam traditional architecture and the beautiful tropical garden. All rooms in the garden are bright and airy, featuring large windows. They are fully air conditioned and offer a flat-screen cable TV, a seating area and modern bathroom facilities. Some accommodation come with a private kitchen, bathtubs and outdoors shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing