We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely, peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed three nights in one of the double rooms. The location is a little out of town, but nicely placed between the town and the beach. Delightful pool, set in pretty gardens. Staff very friendly and provided good recommendations. Bikes provided free for exploring local area, however, a bit more servicing required as had at least 3 bikes that were not fit to ride. Overall a lovely setting from which to explore Hoi an

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    111
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
115
308
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in December. The breakfasts were very good (especially the fresh passion fruit juice). The room we stayed in was large and clean. Unfortunately there was construction work next door and so we woken up early because of the noise. It's a good location, half-way between the old town and the beach and the free bike hire is great. The reason we have not given it a higher rating is that we didn't sleep well and as other places we have stayed in in Vietnam offered much better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidhomestay, Owner at The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
thank you very much for your recent review. we are sorry the construction work next door in December when you stay at orchid garden homestay so you woken up early of the noise . but now the construction work was finished. if the travellers stay at our place now ,please don't worry about that
best regrds
khuong phung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family stayed for 5 nights over New Years 2012/13. Visitors are met by staff Ruby and Mimi who could not have been more helpful throughout out stay. Staff are a huge asset for the homestay particularly the guard /groundsmen / bike repairer.The homestay consists of a number of Villas of different sizes, a meticulously clean pool and many beautiful orchids and plants. The family bungalow is perfect for a family of four. Morning breakfasts are included and were always well prepared and plentiful. While the location may be outside walking distance to Hoi An it was never a hassle to get a ($2 AUS) taxi into town. Bikes are also provided at no charge. Incredibly the homestay host put on a complimentary dinner one night for all guests. This provided a great chance to sample the local food (very well cooked) and meet a range of people from all over the world. Orchid Garden is deserving of its very good reputation. Thanks to all the staff. Great stay.

Room Tip: The family bungalow is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family with have just spent a few days in Hoi An.Booked this accommodation over six months ago direct at info@hoianorchidgarden.com and could not have been happier.The premises set in a lovely tropical quiet setting, lanterns around the garden,very obliging and friendly staff and family, (Ruby a real gem), pool,free water and passionfruit juice throughout the stay and bikes, excellent breakfast,see lantern factory just around the corner. Not in the heart of town but only a 10 minute walk. We would highly recommend this very pleasant homestay.

Room Tip: Book rooms direct from homestay.There may be only one family bungalow which has two large sunny room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Sadly only got to stay here one nght as we were on a tight schedule.
Lovely greeting from friendly, English speaking staff.
Had a villa with a pretty simple lounge, kitchen and bedroom. To off set this there was an unusualy, but very cool indoor-outdoor bathroom with an out door shower (dont worry, there is an in door bathroom too if you feel uncomfortable about bathing outdoors).
Breakfast was simple but lovley.
Was a vouple of kms to the town centre but the walk was nice and discovered some lovely resturants on our walks.
Bikes are free to borrow at your will and we used these to go down to the beach that was located maybe 4-5 km away.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We'd booked a bungalow, but were assigned an excellent new suite upstairs. It was quite delightful... and included two of everything, from flatscreens to bathrooms(!) Breakfast was high quality and delicious. Staff were friendly, helpful and unstinting. Provision of free bicycles made access to the town and beaches easy. A nearby restaurant on the water, the Son (Slow Food for a Slow Life) was a major plus... and we revisited with (new) friends. We've been in Vietnam just two weeks, but this has been our most enjoyable accommodation yet. A big thank you to the staff for organising a party, with local wine and wonderful food, for their guests. We'd usually give such an unscheduled event a miss, but we are so glad we participated... it was outstanding! Special thanks to Mai and Ruby and all the Orchid Gardens personnel for their generosity, care, and top-quality service!

Room Tip: We heard no complaints from any guests at all, but would advocate trying to get one of the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in a family bungalow. We were quite impressed at first with the bungalow itself. The bedroom is big with a large double bed and a seperate single bed seperated by a curtain. The sitting room is also large, however has a very uncomfortable sofa and hence we did not make much use of it. It is a shame as there is cable TV in the sitting room as well as the bedroom, but watching the one in the sitting room proved to be very uncomfortable!

The small kitchen looks OK (fridge, hob, sink), however is poorly equiped and is a little shabby. There is just one wine glass, no knife or any cutlery for that matter, and minimal other utensils and cooking equipment. The kitchen is therefore unusable, unless you ask for stuff, which is something a guest shouldn't be expected to do. The shower and bath in the bathroom is good, however the bathroom itself is the biggest let down. It appears that the bathroom was once an open air room, but the shower has been filled in above, which now means that if it rains outside drips fall into the bathroom from a small gap which has been left. This not only causes an annoying and constant dripping noise, but means that if one is in the shower you can feel the rain drops outside dripping on your head! The bathroom has an intensely musty smell, and the drain smells beside the toilet. With improvement to this room and the kitchen, just a little upgrading here and there, the overall standard would be so much better.

The staff at reception are very friendly and give some helpful advice for getting around town, scams to try to avoid, tailors to use etc. We unfortuantely did find that although staff at reception were always friendly the breakfast staff could smile a little more.
Tip: make sure you do not just stick to one thing on the breakfast menu if you're feeling hungry. This wasn't pointed out to us, but you can order more than just one option. The fresh passion fruit juice is delicious!

As other reviews have stressed there is building work going on next door, which is quite noisy, however there is nothing that the owners can really do about this and it is bearable.

The owners kindly put on a meal for us and other guests one evening, this was a nice touch and the food was very good.

Pool is small but would be good if you had kids, and is plenty big enough for a quick dip.

Wifi is pretty good in the bungalow. TV's have a number of English film Channels.

Location - not in the Old Town - 25 minute walk to this lovely part of Hoi An (the walk is very straightforward, you just follow one road and then turn left). 5-10 minute bike ride using the free bikes. Note these are a bit old and rusty and could do with an oil, but perfectly usable. About 10 minutes on bikes to the beach.

Overall we did enjoy our stay but felt that for the price we expected a little better. With a few improvements here and there to the accommodation, this would be a terrific place, as the staff (especially Ruby and Mimi) really care about their guests and are helpful and welcoming.

Restaurant Tips:

Dingo Deli, left out of the hotel, about 400m on the right for really great Western food and friendly service. A great place to relax over a good coffee and lovely food.

Ganesh is also excellent and well run - Indian restuarant in the Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoi An
0.4 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
1.3 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#4 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#5 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas

Property: The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Address: 382 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 20035, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 kilometres from Hoi An town centre and 2 kilometres from Cua Dai beach. Two hundred square meter of garden provide a setting for over 100 species and 20 hybrids. The garden is designed in natural style. The colour of the garden depend on each season with five main kind of orchids: Vanda, Renanthera, Mokara, Ascocentrum and Phalaenopsis The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas was opened on 09 January 2006 by Mr Khuong Phung. It offer a relaxing retreat in Hoi An. The unique ideal between Vietnam traditional architecture and the beautiful tropical garden. All rooms in the garden are bright and airy, featuring large windows. They are fully air conditioned and offer a flat-screen cable TV, a seating area and modern bathroom facilities. Some accommodation come with a private kitchen, bathtubs and outdoors shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing