We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hoi An
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fabulous spot to watch the foot traffic”

The Bird House Hoian
Ranked #41 of 150 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Description: The Bird House Hoian - Stylish cafe cum boutique located a few steps away from the famous Japanese Bridge in Hoian, Vietnam
Restaurant details
Description: The Bird House Hoian - Stylish cafe cum boutique located a few steps away from the famous Japanese Bridge in Hoian, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dropped into this cafe twice for drinks and ice creams and just to watch the tourists passing by. Lovely atmosphere, casual seating and layout, really lovely spot to relax!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful view, great drinks
The place is designed beautifully, relaxing vibe and great cold drinks as a little stop point to freshen up
Big like

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank noysalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBirdHouseH, Manager at The Bird House Hoian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Noysalmy,

Great to hear from you and so glad you enjoyed your time at The Bird House Hoian.

Enjoy the rest of your trip in Vietnam and Happy 2020!

Cheers,

The Bird House Hoian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

Walked in at 9.25pm for a drink. The staff asked if we wanted a bottle of wine and we (thankfully!) just ordered a glass.... 10 minutes later, the bill had been slammed on our table and the chairs were being stacked all around us. I asked if they were closing (there were still a couple of other tables) and was told by the waitress they close at 9.50pm which is a very interesting and specific time to close. We were also not told this at all when we arrived - guess they were happy to take our money but not for us to sit and enjoy our drink. The lights were switched off in one half of the building and the staff were all chatting loudly, running around turning everything off. The waitress shouted loudly at someone as soon as I got money out to pay - I have never seen someone grab the bill so quickly! Really ruined the ambiance and really wish I hadn't wasted my money as it is quite expensive for Vietnam and I really didn't have time to enjoy my drink (so so glad we didn't get a bottle). I have worked in the service industry and understand how eager you may be to go home after a long day but you really should inform your customers prior to taking their money if you are closing soon and clean up quietly around them if you have taken their money. You absolutely can't switch lights off and tell them you close at 9.50pm when you close at 10pm (we found this out after googling when we had been kicked out). Extremely rude behaviour!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 66kirstyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Drinks were decent, and we tried several of their G&Ts. However as I was leaving I knocked a glass off the table and tried to apologize. After a few moments they came running after us with a bill for the glass after we had already paid, which seemed tacky and unprofessional considering how expensive the drinks were to begin with.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank leo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBirdHouseH, Manager at The Bird House Hoian, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Leo,

Thank you for your comments.

We do apology for the conveniences caused to your visit at The Bird House Hoian and turning your fun experience to an unpleasant one. We however would note that as a common practice and our policy, we will have to charge any amenities damaged which caused by either guests or staffs for new replacement. As you might aware, our drinks are in a good position in terms of quality and garnishment with care, and the drinks are not commonly included the glasses served.

In any event, we thank for you comments; we however found your comments are unfair for us at all.

Kind regards,

The Bird House Hoian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

Stopped by here for iced coffee and tea. It was raining a bit and even though this place is outdoors, the way it set up the roofing covers you up. We had the seats right out in front so we could still people watch at the riverfront. Good service, decent prices, and bathrooms super clean. It also leads to a store and then a but further the street in the back. It was nice and calm at this "cafe" and we enjoyed the serenity away from the hecticcrowds of Hoi An

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank extravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBirdHouseH, Manager at The Bird House Hoian, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2019

Dear Extravelagent,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at The Bird House Hoian.

Enjoy your travel and see you again soon.

Cheers,
The Bird House Hoian Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird House Hoian also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to The Bird House Hoian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing