We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laugh Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Laugh Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Laugh Cafe was set up in 2007 to provide hospitality training to Vietnamese youth. Many young people from the area around Hoi An and Danang come to Hoi An seeking work in the tourist industry. With minimal English and no experience they can only find work in menial positions. Laugh Cafe offers training in hospitality English, service skills, safety and hygiene, restaurant and kitchen management and cooking skills. When our trainees leave we help them find a job in the area that the area that they wish to work in.Laugh Cafe is supported by MAD Indochina, an Australian NGO.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We not only enjoyed eating at Laugh Cafe, but also very much enjoyed attending the cooking class where we chose four dishes from the menu and they were absolutely fabulous! Prices are extremely reasonable! The food really is exeptional and the ambience of the restaurant is so friendly, not to mention it's for a good cause! Highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    74
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in 2 weeks in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We initially chose Laugh because it was close to our hotel and had good ratings on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed the pancake wrapped in rice paper and the Peppered Beef in Banana Leaf. All dishes were freshly cooked and the service was great. We came back the next day to book in to a cooking class. I chose 4 recipes from the menu and Huy bought the ingredients the following morning. The cooking lesson was 1:1 and took about 2 hours, and provided dinner for me and my wife. I am now enjoying perfecting these dishes at home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Looked this restaurant up after reading reviews and we weren't disappointed. Good freshly cooked food, good size portions - we had a bottle of wine with our meal - both food and drinks were very reasonably priced. Also, very good service.

We had a very enjoyable evening and would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aljuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

One of the best cafes in Hoi an great fresh food, friendly service relaxed not rushed and cold cheap beer what more could you ask for. My dinner was so good (wanton then fish in a clay pot) I came back for breakfast must admit couldn't resist the egg & bacon on toast with one of the best coffee's you will find. The staff are students being trained in hospitality and love to practice English great fun, nothing is to much trouble the local manager is happy to explain the dishes to help you make the right choice. A MUST do while in Hoi an

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AAndy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon - what a gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for 2 restaurants we looked up on Trip Advisor - both ended up being closed and found this place and decided to give it a go not knowing if it would be good given it had a semi-tourist name (as opposed to a Vietnamese one). Anyway, it ended up being a real delight, with really softly spoken service, pretty fairy light alfresco area and gasp - a cheap glass of wine! We ordered grilled pork in banana leaf and seafood spaghetti and it was authentic and flavoursome. Our tip was greeted by some enthusiasm too which was even more amazing than the value for money cheque at the end (cost less than $7pp)!

Helpful?
Thank 1st_time_EUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing