We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local foods”
Review of Laugh Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Laugh Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Laugh Cafe was set up in 2007 to provide hospitality training to Vietnamese youth. Many young people from the area around Hoi An and Danang come to Hoi An seeking work in the tourist industry. With minimal English and no experience they can only find work in menial positions. Laugh Cafe offers training in hospitality English, service skills, safety and hygiene, restaurant and kitchen management and cooking skills. When our trainees leave we help them find a job in the area that the area that they wish to work in.Laugh Cafe is supported by MAD Indochina, an Australian NGO.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic local foods”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We came for dinner as the reviews were good I have to say was not disappointed. As a Vietnamese couple we really enjoyed the local dishes. I wood recommed this restaurant to any Vietnames or westener. Great food great freindly service. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuong85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    74
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than all the rest”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night and perhaps it spoiled us as it was so tasty and fresh. We spent the rest of our week in Hoi An disappointed at various food etablishments. They weren't bad but they just weren't as good as the laugh cafe. Everyday we would try somewhere new and find ourselves comparing it to this cafe which was always better. That night we would end up back there. The food is tasty and the prices are very reasonable. You can get cheaper elsewhere but it's not much of a difference in price and it is so worth paying that tiny bit extra for the quality, hygiene and standards. They have cold, fresh, local beer that's well worth a taste and cheap. They offer cooking classes and the cafe is part of a charity so you are also giving back to the community. You must visit and try their food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and worthy cause”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We came across this little gem far too late in our holiday which meant we only ate there once- a pity for us because we really liked this cafe. We loved the food, specially the spring rolls and the grilled squid with lemongrass -absolute burst of favours. The restaurant supports kids from rural Vietnam to learn skills in the hospitality industry and set them forth to a life with greater opportunities.
The price was exceptionally reasonable compared to other restaurants of lesser quality food. The service was personable and attentive. We had hoped to return the following day but our afternoon tour provided us with another delicious meal. The area was a lot quieter which suited us as a family. Not to be missed and we wish the Laugh Cafe well in their future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaszb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great meal in Hoi An”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had a great night at Laugh cafe meet the owner lovely Australian guy that has just taken over the business and has a fabulous Vietnamese chef on cooking amazing food. Anything that you order here would be amazing we had the papaya salad which is a must have! And some more amazing local food followed by the best ICY cold local beer!
Such reasonably priced for such great food would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eat, drink and do the cooking course!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were recommended this place by friends and headed over and found the food to be excellent and the fresh beer to be cheap (£0.9p a glass!).

The staff are part of a training scheme run my the Laugh Cafe and overall are great. Whilst you might have a to wait a little longer for you food than in other restaurants I wouldn't take that as a bad thing. All the food is properly fresh and not pre-prepared.

We also did the cooking class which was excellent and very well priced. I would highly recommend the class even if (your are like me) your not majorly into cooking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dickyevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing