We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really should go”
Review of Laugh Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Laugh Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Laugh Cafe was set up in 2007 to provide hospitality training to Vietnamese youth. Many young people from the area around Hoi An and Danang come to Hoi An seeking work in the tourist industry. With minimal English and no experience they can only find work in menial positions. Laugh Cafe offers training in hospitality English, service skills, safety and hygiene, restaurant and kitchen management and cooking skills. When our trainees leave we help them find a job in the area that the area that they wish to work in.Laugh Cafe is supported by MAD Indochina, an Australian NGO.
Da Lat, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You really should go”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited Laugh after it was recommended to us by a fellow traveller who had eaten here daily. We had already been here in Hoi An for several days and eaten at other local places. Laugh had really good versions of other meals we had had; the shrimp spring rolls were so good that we did a cooking class with Huy (Co-Owner, Manager and Chef) so we can make them at home. We ate there a total of 4 nights, and enjoyed the best "fresh" beer that we had found, and very reasonably priced local wine. Adrian's (who owns Laugh, and runs it with MAD) company was interesting and welcome. While the location isn't perfect, there is always some interesting street life to observe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    74
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Excellent food I will never forget!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This local quality establishment serves the best food in Hoi an, and should not be missed to experience the best of local cuisine. This was unlike any other meal we had in Vietnam, with the food being fresh and full of flavour. The Fish dish, vietnam salad, wonton were the most amazing things we have ever had. We also had cooking class here. It was amazing with excellent quality. Now we can cook some vietnamese foods at home. And we would not hesitate in saying this was a highlight of the lovely town of HoiAn. The menu has something for everyone, and is very well priced and full of all the tastes of the region. Staffs are so friendly with good service. LOVELY

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Popular resturant with average food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We had seen alot of people over a couple of days at this cafe. We had vegetable soup and fresh spring rolls. Vege soup was o k but the fresh spring rolls were poor. They contained mostly grated chewy pale vege with a little grated carrot and small pieces of meat.we did enjoy the fruit smoothies though. Friendly waiter but long wait for food.

Helpful?
Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laugh01, General Manager at Laugh Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy all the food at Laugh Cafe, however we can do something about explaining the wait for your food. At Laugh all our food is prepared after you have placed an order. Nothing is prepared in advance. This ensures that your food is a fresh as possible, but it also entails having to wait a little longer.
It is true that at Laugh; Food takes time.
We seek to train young people about quality and customer care.
In Hoi An most of our customers have time to enjoy our service and our offerings. We do understand however that some customers are in a hurry.
We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Vietnam.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply the Best !!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I can only echo all that has been said already about this restaurant. It is unquestionably brilliant !!! Found it by chance on our first night & what a bonus that was. Such was the quality of the food & the general ambience of the place that we went there on our next two evenings. There are obviously many other eating establishments in Hoi An but let me assure you would be hard pushed to beat this place. Would not want to recommend the place on the basis of the prices charged as that would deflect from the real reason you should visit, which of course is the quality of the food served. However, you will not be "breaking the bank" with what you are charged. The prices quite simply beggar belief ! In terms of service the "manager" Peter was a great host & he really added to the experience. We met another "local" on our visits - Adrian - who was equally helpful in offering us useful local information.
All I can say is if you are going to Hoi An do yourself a real favour & make sure you give this place a visit. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed. Fantastic food !!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super quality food and excellent service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have no doubt that this restaurant is the best in the whole of Hoi An. The service is quite genuine, food tastes so great and the menu is filled with choices. My wife and I did not know what to order. We ordered a meal and wanted to taste sample of it. The staff was kind enough to give us a sample to taste. We then ordered the meal and enjoyed it thoroughly. It has authentic food prepared in the traditional Vietnamese style. The ambience was perfect and we loved our time spent here in this restaurant. They also offer cookery classes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKendraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing