We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eatery”
Review of Laugh Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Laugh Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Laugh Cafe was set up in 2007 to provide hospitality training to Vietnamese youth. Many young people from the area around Hoi An and Danang come to Hoi An seeking work in the tourist industry. With minimal English and no experience they can only find work in menial positions. Laugh Cafe offers training in hospitality English, service skills, safety and hygiene, restaurant and kitchen management and cooking skills. When our trainees leave we help them find a job in the area that the area that they wish to work in.Laugh Cafe is supported by MAD Indochina, an Australian NGO.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great eatery”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stumbled upon Laugh Cafe whilst riding around on our bikes. We stopped and had lunch, were very impressed by the place and decided to go back the next day for the cookery course. I definitely recommend this very relaxed place that provides wonderful food and gives an excellent service. The cookery course was a fantastic way to get a better insight into Hoi An food and was very good value for what you prepare, learn and then enjoy. Another positive, the kitchen is certainly spotless! Everything we tasted, we loved, however i have to say the papaya salad was my favourite! You will definitely not be disappointed with a visit to the Laugh Cafe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    74
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple, delicious food with a great cause!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ate dinner at Laugh Cafe and loved it. Great Vietnamese food done right at a nice price. We returned the next day for an even better cooking experience. They taught us how simple Vietnamese cooking is and we can't wait to use those skills at home. The restaurant teaches the local youth how to cook and manage a restaurant so they an start up their own. It's a great program and the money you spend there goes directly to the cause.

Try it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chenna41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Vietnamese cuisine with Western hygenic standards”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The food is great and they care about hygienic, I have seen the kitchen! You can eat everything there and it will be amazing. The secret is, that they start to prepare your dish right after you have ordered. So everything is absolutely fresh! And you eat for a good purpose.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best value and tastiest smoothies”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We kept coming back for the great value / great taste mango smoothies. An oasis in Hoi An. Also has wifi. Great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Titho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food, helpful friendly staff and a very good cooking class”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Myself and a friend stumbled upon the Laugh Cafe Restaurant on our first day in Hoi An and where greeted by some very genuinely friendly staff, followed by the owner Peter that answered all our questions about the cooking class we were interested in doing. The next day we headed down for the cooking class and where not disappointed. The atmosphere was great and the food was even better. We not only got to learn some tasty dishes which we will defiantly be recreating back home but got to learn a bit of the history of the food and really got a feel for what Vietnamese food is all about, which we hadn't had much luck with up until the laugh Cafe.

If you don't fancy the class defiantly pop in for some of the food its all cooked fresh on a backpackers price tag. Even better Laugh Cafe is a Non-governmental organization who works with disadvantaged young people in Vietnam, by showing them the ropes of the hospitality industry, providing opportunities and a brighter future for all involved.

highly recommend a visit, best food I have found in Vietnam so far.. try the wontons,and the saffron fish in a banana leaf yumm

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucylu49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing