We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nhi Trung Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nhi Trung Hotel
Ranked #47 of 218 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Overall this was a good hostel - the staff were very helpful - from sorting out our postage to the laundry, to booking our night bus onwards from Hoi An.

Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom was clean with a good shower.

Breakfast was also good.

Location is pretty good being about a 10 minute walk from the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    51
    7
    15
See reviews for
10
130
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was decent overall. Our room was pretty tiny with a small window and not a lot of natural light but clean with a fridge, AC, a kettle and an old TV. The location was good and the included breakfast was decent. Noise carries throughout the hotel from both inside and out, so you should consider ear plugs if you stay here.

My major complaint was that the staff pushed their tours and charged a higher commission then anywhere else and then were deceptive when asked about it. We questioned why theirs were priced higher than other places for the same thing, and they lied and said it was a better tour, with better guides and better buses, etc. Everything else we had heard made us very skeptical of these claims, and as we expected, this was totally untrue. Even though we paid about 25% less at the travel agency across the street, we were on the exact same tour as people who booked from our hotel. They also charged 50% more than elsewhere for the bus to Hue. Of course, they can charge whatever people will pay, but lying about it is not acceptable. And, even this would not be a huge deal (as seasoned travelers, we are used to being deceived), but they were rude after we didn't book with them. They ignored us (which was somewhat better then when they were fawning when we were still a potential tour customer), but when they avoided us when we tried to order breakfast, it started to become a a bit uncomfortable.

Overall, I would say we wouldn't recommend this place. The facility is good but not great (as its high Tripadvisor rating would imply). It would be fine but for the tour booking business, but once that stuff is factored in, I cannot recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Consumerama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nhi Trung for three nights in December and were very pleased with the place. Our room's only window was overlooking the stairwell which I was not crazy about at first, but it turned out to be hardly noticeable. The room was a fair size and the bathroom was extremely clean and nice, the shower was the fanciest I have seen in my life, with a large overhead faucet and small back jets, and very hot water. The wifi connection was great and the included breakfasts were an added bonus. We also had friends staying on the floor above us with similiarly nice rooms (perhaps even better as they had balconies). I would certainly stay here again, the location was very convenient, the staff were very friendly, and the value for the money was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location, within walking distance to the river.

Clean rooms and bathroom. Very hot shower and cleaned daily.

Breakfast included and good selection.

Free wi-fi in the rooms and lobby and staff very friendly.

They collect you from the bus drop off also for free which is quite a walk away.

Would recommend to anyone visiting.

Also, across the road, there is a restaurant with tables with pink design and puppy dogs on. This place did the best pho we had in the whole country and was soooo cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuckooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found the Hotel very clean no noise in our room and breakfast good, Our room was large and very good value for the price being right in town, Mr Thanh helped us organise transfers & Hotels and everything we asked for he got done promptly very good manager. Have no issues to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in December and felt very safe. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the bathroom was a welcome change from others we had used in Vietnam. The staff were very good and provided help when needed. Would reccomend this to others travelling to Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Possum1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good value hotel with clean rooms and very nice and modern bathroom. Good breakfast and nice common area.
Very friendly staff.
The only downside is that our room in the first floor had a window to the staircase so a) we could hear all the activity that was going on at the front desk and common area, which was a bit annoying at night or early in the morning and b) people going up the stairs could peek into the room and directly to the bed.
Apart from that, and from the fact that the only window was facing indoors, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 135 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#36 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#94 of 135 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#73 of 135 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
#22 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhi Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Trung Hotel

Property: Nhi Trung Hotel
Address: 700 Hai Ba Trung St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nhi Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing