We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Buffalo Cart Day Trip from Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 149 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours ( Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the real life of the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming community in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was a wonderful tour - lots of fun and so interesting. Our guides/boat mates, Giap, Anh, and Sinh were just GREAT. The tour included so many interesting sights and experiences from throwing the fish nets, meeting the couple fishing, basket boats and tea with a villager. The meal on board was amazing as well. The three guides were so informative and made the tour so much fun. This was one of our favourite tours during our three week visit to Vietnam.
Thanks - keep doing these amazing tours!!!

Thank JillCCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear JillCCalgary,

On behalf of our team, I am Jack Tran, the owner of HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family Company would love to thank you for reviewing us on the TRIPADVISOR. It is great to hear you said " LOVED IT" on joining tour with our Fisherman & the waterways.

It is again to thank you for joining with us and wish to see you back next time.

Jack Tran and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for Jack Tran Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,697 - 1,701 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We visit many places & join several traveling tours in Vietnam. This is the best tour activity we joined. You must join this activity if you can wake up early & enjoy the perfect sunrise.

Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Caroline C,

Warmest regards from Jack Tran and the team of HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family from Hoi An,Viet Nam !

Thank you very much for taking your time to review for us on the TRIPADVISOR, the world biggest and largest site of traveling. It is great to learn that you had a great experience on the early sunrise cruise with our team. As having mentioned with you on the tour, the best time to go on this tour is from Feb to August and early of Sept. It is not advised to experience it from End of Sept to Dec as it is the wet season in Hoi An which is likely wet, rainy and cloudy.

On behalf of the team, we are very pleased to have welcomed you to our team and so happy to know that you had seen the sun rising perfectly at the mouth of the Cua Dai sea - Hoi An, Viet Nam.

With all the best wishes,

Jack Tran and the team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I went to visit rice farmers. I was taken through all the activities that a traditional farmer performs in raising rice. It was wonderful! The farmers were warm and welcoming, my guide was very patient and explained a lot. Lunch was the best meal I've had in Vietnam.

I can't say enough good things about this trip. Go for it!

Thank kathleen_k74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear kathleen_k74,

We would like to write this email to thank you for having spent your time to review for us on the TRIPADVISOR, the world largest site on travel.

We are so happy to learn that you have had such a wonderful time and great experience with our local Eco-guide and farmers.

We hope very much that you have learned a lot about rice how it is grown, harvested, sold and eaten by 90 million people in Vietnam and hundred of millions of Asian people .

Once again, on behalf of Jack Tran and the local farmer and team, we wish you would have a great trip in Vietnam and hope to see you back next time with us.

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There is one word that is not in Jack Tran's vocabulary, and that word is 'no'. I was intrigued with all of the different packages that he offered but we were constrained for time in Hoi An, so I asked Jack if he could custom tailor an itinerary that would somehow shoehorn in almost all of the activities in one day that would normally take 2-3 days to do. He easily could have said 'no', that we should just choose our favorite package and go with that. Instead, Jack crafted a 12 hour customized array of activities that required an incredible amount of logistics and strategic timing.
He somehow was able to synch up a seamless transition between van and bike and ferry and basket boats and more ferry and bike and water buffalo and fishing boat. As a fellow tour operator, it was incredible to watch such a well-oiled machine.

Every aspect of Jack's tour is well thought out and the activity and narrative ensure that you get a solid understanding and hands on experience about rural life near Hoi An. And it doesn't hurt that Jack has an exceptional command of English and that he has such a warm and engaging personality. He is surrounded by a staff that is both competent and seem to truly enjoy their jobs (especially making clients dizzy on the basket boats or creating super cool items out of palm leaves).

Jack was more than helpful with addressing some of our unique dietary needs, with his trusty wife, Trang ensuring that we enjoyed a scrumptious lunch on the rice farm before greeting the muddy mess (absolute blast!) of the rice field.

If I had more time next go round, I would certainly spend a more intensive day just focusing on the rice package and the following day on the fishing package.....as its worth savoring the landscape and having enough time to really master some of the fishing skills.

Hopefully, I can convince Jack to be my guide in Hanoi, HaLIng Bay, Sapa and the Mekong if we go back, as he definitely is the goods!!!!! Anyone, who can keep 3 15 yr old girls attention for 12 hrs has got my vote!!

Jack's company is a definite no-brainer as far as including on your Hoi An bucket list.

Thank beaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear beaubo,

Best greetings from Jack Tran and the team of HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family !

We feel just so happy to read your review on the TRIPADVISOR ! How fantastic it is to get it !

Thank you so much for joining tour with our team. We are very pleased to learn that you and your family had a real hands-on experience on my tailoring tour which lasted for a very long day to enjoy and experience all of the best things in the rural life of Hoi An villages and nearby.

As you might have known that we are the family run business since 2005. We do our job with our love and passion. We tried our best to share about our life to you and travelers how we live and work with tourism. We are very glad that you did have a very good time with our family.

Once again, thank you so much for spending your time to review for us on the TRIPADVISOR. We strongly believe that your wonderful experience will convince other families with children or other travelers have the same great adventure like yours.

Wishing you with all the best and hope to see you back next time with our family

Take care,

Jack Tran and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Jack's Hoi An Eco-Tour (we did the farming and fishing life tour) was an absolute highlight of our trip. The tour was well run, professional, with a very friendly crew, spotlessly clean boat and delicious food. The lunch was amazing! I can't recommend this tour highly enough. We were a group of two families, 4 adults and 4 teenagers. If you are looking for something which will cater to everyone then this is it. Thanks to Jack and family, for a great day!

Thank Leisel527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Leisel527,

Best greetings from Jack Tran and the Hoi An Eco-tour Family in Hoi An tow , Viet Nam !

Thank you a lot for having reviewed for us on the TRIPADVISOR, the world largest site on traveling.

It is great for you to share your lovely, memorable and amazing time on the Farming & Fishing Life Tour with our crews.

On behalf of Jack Tran team, we would love to express our biggest thanks for spending your time with us. We wish all of you and the kids have a great trip in Vietnam.

We hope to see you back next time with us with other different tour experience.

All the best wishes with loves xxx

Jack Tran and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing