We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Highlight”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Buffalo Cart Day Trip from Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 149 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours ( Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the real life of the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming community in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There is one word that is not in Jack Tran's vocabulary, and that word is 'no'. I was intrigued with all of the different packages that he offered but we were constrained for time in Hoi An, so I asked Jack if he could custom tailor an itinerary that would somehow shoehorn in almost all of the activities in one day that would normally take 2-3 days to do. He easily could have said 'no', that we should just choose our favorite package and go with that. Instead, Jack crafted a 12 hour customized array of activities that required an incredible amount of logistics and strategic timing.
He somehow was able to synch up a seamless transition between van and bike and ferry and basket boats and more ferry and bike and water buffalo and fishing boat. As a fellow tour operator, it was incredible to watch such a well-oiled machine.

Every aspect of Jack's tour is well thought out and the activity and narrative ensure that you get a solid understanding and hands on experience about rural life near Hoi An. And it doesn't hurt that Jack has an exceptional command of English and that he has such a warm and engaging personality. He is surrounded by a staff that is both competent and seem to truly enjoy their jobs (especially making clients dizzy on the basket boats or creating super cool items out of palm leaves).

Jack was more than helpful with addressing some of our unique dietary needs, with his trusty wife, Trang ensuring that we enjoyed a scrumptious lunch on the rice farm before greeting the muddy mess (absolute blast!) of the rice field.

If I had more time next go round, I would certainly spend a more intensive day just focusing on the rice package and the following day on the fishing package.....as its worth savoring the landscape and having enough time to really master some of the fishing skills.

Hopefully, I can convince Jack to be my guide in Hanoi, HaLIng Bay, Sapa and the Mekong if we go back, as he definitely is the goods!!!!! Anyone, who can keep 3 15 yr old girls attention for 12 hrs has got my vote!!

Jack's company is a definite no-brainer as far as including on your Hoi An bucket list.

Thank beaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear beaubo,

Best greetings from Jack Tran and the team of HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family !

We feel just so happy to read your review on the TRIPADVISOR ! How fantastic it is to get it !

Thank you so much for joining tour with our team. We are very pleased to learn that you and your family had a real hands-on experience on my tailoring tour which lasted for a very long day to enjoy and experience all of the best things in the rural life of Hoi An villages and nearby.

As you might have known that we are the family run business since 2005. We do our job with our love and passion. We tried our best to share about our life to you and travelers how we live and work with tourism. We are very glad that you did have a very good time with our family.

Once again, thank you so much for spending your time to review for us on the TRIPADVISOR. We strongly believe that your wonderful experience will convince other families with children or other travelers have the same great adventure like yours.

Wishing you with all the best and hope to see you back next time with our family

Take care,

Jack Tran and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for Jack Tran Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,704 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Jack's Hoi An Eco-Tour (we did the farming and fishing life tour) was an absolute highlight of our trip. The tour was well run, professional, with a very friendly crew, spotlessly clean boat and delicious food. The lunch was amazing! I can't recommend this tour highly enough. We were a group of two families, 4 adults and 4 teenagers. If you are looking for something which will cater to everyone then this is it. Thanks to Jack and family, for a great day!

Thank Leisel527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Leisel527,

Best greetings from Jack Tran and the Hoi An Eco-tour Family in Hoi An tow , Viet Nam !

Thank you a lot for having reviewed for us on the TRIPADVISOR, the world largest site on traveling.

It is great for you to share your lovely, memorable and amazing time on the Farming & Fishing Life Tour with our crews.

On behalf of Jack Tran team, we would love to express our biggest thanks for spending your time with us. We wish all of you and the kids have a great trip in Vietnam.

We hope to see you back next time with us with other different tour experience.

All the best wishes with loves xxx

Jack Tran and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Im 15years old and came on Jack's tour with 2friends of mine and her parents. We woke up at 6 and everything we did-from biking through the village,the market,the fish farms and organic farms, the basket boats, delicious lunch, insanely fun water buffalo rides, fishing, meeting a VietCong soldier personally, the tour of the canal in the basketboats, reef jewelry, dancing Gangumstyle:), pulling in a real fishingnet, fishsauce factory, monkeyladder to the boats,-EVERYTHING was absolutely incredible!All the staff were very kind and amazing to us!Everything was so organized and fun! Jack-this was the most INCREDIBLE tour!! THANK YOU!!!

Thank Chani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Chani W,

This is Jack , the owner of HOI AN ECO-TOUR Co.

Your review on the TRIPADVISOR based on your wonderful experience with me and the team was awesome. Thank you so much Chani for having joined tour with me and my team. You are such a lovely and so independent girl who would love to take a great adventure into another world just right now you are only 15 years old. Very brave girl and how great you are !

The world is small and there are lot of thing to discover ahead ! Good luck Chani and may all the best wishes to you. I wish you would tell all of your friends, parents, teachers and lot of more about Viet Nam and Jack Tran Hoi An Eco-Tour.

All the best,

Jack Tran, Trang., the local people ( you met) and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were collected from our hotel and taken directly to our boat. Captain Cook and crew were fantastic. They made us feel welcome straight away. They spoke excellent English. After 21 days spent in Vietnam, our children (aged 8 & 11) both said this was their favourite part. They enjoyed the fishing, basket boats and the village tour. The water coconut palm hats, glasses, rings etc the crew made added to the fun. Their 'Gangnam Style' paddle was hilarious. The kids were even shown how to make the rings. A hands on experience for all to enjoy. You don't need to be able to swim, as life jackets are available. The seafood lunch provided was delicious. I am recommending this tour to friends travelling in 6 months time!

Thank IKINDREAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear IKINDREAM,

We would like to thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review for us on the TRIPADVISOR, the world travel largest site.

It is fantastic for us to learn you and your family, esp your kids loved our tour on the waterways. We hope all the activities of the tour provided including our unique " ECO-GANGNAM STYLE ON THE BASKET BOAT" lunch on board, fishing with the local, funny toys gift created from the palm leaves..etc was your highlight and favorite part in Viet Nam.

Your recommendation is deeply appreciated !

Thank you very much !

Jack Tran & the team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Actually we didnt know what to expect when we were starting the tour besides an active afternoon. We were picked up on time at the hotel with a comfortable Mercedes van. A smiling and motivated young lady named Hue welcomed us and we went to a place where we got our bikes and started along the rice paddies to cycle. The first stop was a 69 year old woman working as a farmer in the organic garden where Hue informed us that by booking the tour you contribute to the life of 30 families who would otherwise live from around USD 8 per month, as this is what you get from the government when you retire. The herbs smelled amazing and we learned the traditional way to water the plants...not an easy job we had to admit! We continued through the nature of Hoi An, saw duck farms, had a ride on a water buffallo and met amazing people who are friendly, happy and very welcoming on our way. No worries its not exhausting. We arrived at our boat where we met Captain Cook and the crew. We met actual fisherman, it is still there profession and they tried to teach us fishing with the small and big net. Our biggest success were 3 tiny anchovies but it was fun anyways. Then we changed to the basket boat through the watercoconut wood...be amazed by what Hue and the crew can create from only palm leaves. You get to know stories from the war, why the boats are round and a lot of other interesting facts. Then it was dinner time, and me not eating fish or meat I thought I might have some small things and some rice with soya sauce. But we clearly underestimated the skills of Captain Cook and team. They spoiled us with fresh springrolls, vegetables, sticky rice, calamari, fish, vietnamese pancakes.... Short: it was a fantastic dinner and no wishes open. Only small minus, the crew didnt eat with us, we believe they were not allowed. We were super lucky and had an exclusive tour for the 2 of us and would have very much enjoyed their company on the table or floor. Hue is a refreshing personality who shares her life and experiences with joy and happiness and you feel she loves her job! If you do the tour not once you feel it was set up for tourists. We recommend it to everybody...just such a fantastic experience.

Thank Salamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Salamalia,

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner of HOI AN ECO-TOUR co.

On behalf of my team, we would like to thank you for posting a very minded review on the TRIPADVISOR. There is no doubt that this site has a hundred of million visit per month and it turns out to be the No 1 site on travel.

Having read your review followed with your detail of tour report, I have realized that you had such an amazing time with our crews especially our young lady guide Hue who is very passionate on her job. From the beginning to the end of the tour, it was a process to visit a herb garden, buffalo ride, basket boat adventure, fishing, palm forest discover, dinner on board ( Guests are advised to inform us in advance if they can not eat seafood, we can offer other food on board )

More than Hue said to you in regard with her escorting you, maybe, there was a misunderstanding that when someone retired from the government, it depends on how long you worked and what kind of job you do, so when they retired. they can be received pension average from 80 USD up to 250 USD for per month or even if they are from the police ,military colonel... they must receive higher than others officers as they nearly spent all their life to the country serving. In deed, the lady who is 69 years old at the organic farm as Hue might have mentioned to you, she received only 50 USD for a month as a part of a small GRANT. as she was a local soldier anti the American war in Vietnam then.

I hope this correct information readjust to make sure other travelers to have.

Again, thank you very much for joining with my team. We are working hard for everyday to contribute to help lot of local community gain a better life from tourism.

Best regards,

Jack Tran & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing