We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic laughter filled afternoon”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
Ranked #1 of 144 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours ( Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the real life of the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming community in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic laughter filled afternoon”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

With our tour party we had a great afternoon with the team, fishing, messing around in coracles, being adorned with banana left hats, rings, brackets, etc. Highly recommend as a way to 'try out' some of Vietnam's fishing techniques.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ms.Belinda C,

Thank you very much for joining Fisherman & the waterways trip with the HOI AN ECO-TOUR® Family. We are very happy to know you had a great afternoon time with our crews and the local fishermen people at the Phuoc Hai Fishing Village, Cua Dai , Hoi An . It is so wonderful to see you were adorned with rings, hats, bracelets while touring on our peculiar basket boat whistle exploring the water coconut jungle. We hope the trip had delighted your visit in the Hoi An ancient city.

Once again, we really thank your great review on the TRIPADVISOR. Any recommendation about the HOI AN ECO-TOUR® to your friends, family and to anyone whom you know, will be appreciated.

We wish to see you back next time and enjoy your holiday in Vietnam !

Cheers,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
The owner & Managing Director
The HOI AN ECO-TOUR® Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,188
    176
    14
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting fishing experience!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We joined the half-day fishing tour and the kids loved riding the round basket very much and casting the fishing net, though we just caught one small fish that morning. Hue, the guide told us that normally more fishes could be caught in the afternoon. The kids liked the souvenirs - the hat, the glasses, the bracelet, the rose and the earring, made out of coconut plam leaves. The elder one even learnt how to make a ring when we were in the round basket.
A million thanks to Viet, Duong, Sang, Do, Don and Hue for giving us such an enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALawJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear ALawJ,

Warmest Greetings from the HOIAN ECO-TOUR® Family in the Ancient town of Vietnam !

On behalf of our family and the crews, My name is Jack Tran, the son of the family would love to express our sincerest thanks for putting your review about us on the TRIPADVISOR. We are so pleased to hear that you have had such a memorable experience with our crews and the local fishermen people from our Phuoc Hai fishing village. We are so delighted to learn the kids loved the fishing part and riding the round basket boat. The fact that the hat, the glasses, the bracelet, the rose and the earring, made out of coconut palm leaves were one of the highlight that brightened your day then.

We are also happy to learn that you caught only one fish ( better than nothing ) and We hoped you had the fish cooked by our CAPTAINCOOK on board.

Hue is our lovely guide who is very passion on her job and I am very glad you got her as one of our best guides in our family.

Again, we do appreciate your TRIPADVISOR comment and thanks a lot for joining with us. We wish you enjoy your holiday in Vietnam.

Welcome you back soon !

Best wishes,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
The owner & Managing Director
HOIAN ECO-TOUR® Family company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fisherman and waterways tour”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great fun tour and a fantastic experience. Definitely recommend it. Our meal on the boat, watching the sunset, was amazing. Big thanks to capt Cook and his team, Tien, Viet, Em, Do, Sang, Nong. Would do it again on our next visit back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Julie N,

Best greetings from The HOIAN ECO-TOUR Family in the ancient city of Vietnam !

Thank you so much for taking your time to review us on the TRIPADVISOR. We are very happy to learn that you had an amazing time with our crews on board.

We wish you all the best luck and looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards,

Jack Tran and the crews
THE HOIAN ECO-TOUR® Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wet Rice Farm Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although we read what we were doing on this tour, it was more of a 'hands on' approach than expected, which was great to get you really involved.
It started with a gentle ride through the rice fields before arriving at a local village,Cam Thanh, where we met the owner and his friend who assisted for the day. They were very jovial and with little to no English, the interaction between us made it a fun morning.
We started with an introduction with the family buffalo: not as we would introduce, but a ride on the back of him, followed by some ploughing, harrowing, threshing and planting. Whilst then we learnt about how to make rice flour before moving into the kitchen to assist in cooking rice paper pancakes. After making a couple we moved to the table to enjoy; whilst being provided with a 'feast' for lunch. Fantastic spread.
Our guide, Tien, was excellent: her knowledge was good of the rice process and the local area. She has a good sense of humour and attitude which assisted in making the tour worth while.
Overall a wonderful introduction to rice farm work and an appreciation of the hard work involved, whilst meeting a lovely village family and a guide to assist in making it enjoyable.
Highly recommend as a tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLG014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear SLG014,

Best regards from The HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family company as well as the local Farmers community in the countryside of Cam Thanh village of Hoi An Ancient city !

It is lovely to read your fantastic review on the TRIPADVISOR. Thank you very much for having experienced with our company. We are so delighted to learn you had a great trip more than it was expected.

Set up at a nice location on the quiet and peaceful as well as beautiful area, Our Wet Rice Farmer Experience tour is an ideally unique for those who would love to explore and learn about the Vietnamese wet rice civilized cultivation that existed thousand years ago. This Wet Rice trip will help you understand about the rice process from the beginning to raking and plough with water buffalo until harvesting and eating rice. Not only do you meet the friendly and jovial local farmers people but also enjoy the green and so peaceful environmental community surroundings.

We are very happy to hear you liked very much our Tour Guide Ms. Angel Tien as well as our local farmers who amused and humored you during the trip.

Once again, on behalf of them, I am Jack Tran the owner of HOI AN ECO-TOUR ® Compay to thank you for joining tour with us. I wish you have a great trip in Vietnam.

I hope to see you to the next time !

Best wishes,

Cheers,

Jack Tran
The owner of HOI AN ECO-TOUR ®
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fishing village tour”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This tour was extremely well put together. Starting off with learning how to cast a fishing net with local fisherman, then learning to row the bamboo boat, then to a local home, food, and then 2 more activities! The local people were very happy and joyful!

It felt very private and not overly-touristy. The staff WAS GREAT! They were so friendly and fun the whole time and really made the experience. I would strongly suggest Tien as a guide. She was fun and light-hearted and really added to the whole experience! She was the best guide we have had so far in Vietnam! We also had Giap and Anh as staff on the boat and they were great too! We were constantly getting new hand-made bamboo presents :) (rings, hats, etc)

Overall this tour was excellent and a great time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachelgodfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Rachelgodfred,

Greetings from the HOI AN ECO-TOUR Family in the ancient town of Vietnam !

On behalf of our crews of Tien, the tour guide, Giap,the Capt and Anh, the basket boat dancer who was serving you on your last Fisherman and the waterways trip, my name is Jack Tran to thank you so much for joining tour with our family. We are very happy to read your feedback and so glad you enjoyed our trip a lot.

We also would like to thank you for laying a beautiful review on your trip on the TRIPADVISOR. How nice and excited to see it online.

We wish you had a great trip in Vietnam and enjoy your holiday !

We wish to see you back

Jack Tran and the crews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing