We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relax tour!”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour since 2005) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An & Cham Island. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An including activities at Cham island such as fishing and snorkeling and more. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have joy and laughter throughout the Eco Tour. Overall expectation is Good and reasonable pricing.
We get to experience the basket boat, dance, fishing and taste their delicious local food. Although it seem very tourist activities, I believe you still able to experience their cultural and food.

Thank kongjqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Youthcyber,

Warmest regards from the crews of Hoi An Eco-tours family !

Thank you very much for reviewing us on the TRIPADVISOR. We are happy to learn you had a great time with us. Despite the fact that the number of guest booked thru our business increasing, we have tried our best to organize to remain the best things to our clients. Again, thank you for experiencing our food and local fishing culture.

We wish you with all the best and looking forward to welcoming you to our Hoi An Eco-tours for our different kind of tours.

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner and Managing director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"eco tour"
in 322 reviews
"captain cook"
in 215 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 382 reviews
"basket boat"
in 289 reviews
"rice"
in 228 reviews
"gangnam style"
in 91 reviews
"fishing nets"
in 114 reviews
"fishing village"
in 167 reviews
"boat crew"
in 60 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 56 reviews
"great fun"
in 195 reviews
"cast nets"
in 31 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 79 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 46 reviews
"catch fish"
in 38 reviews
"round boats"
in 79 reviews
"traditional fishing"
in 44 reviews
Filter

2,246 - 2,250 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We joined the Fisherman tour. The activities were interesting, staff were really friendly, and there were plenty of photo opportunities (e.g. fisherman casting the net). We would definitely recommend the tour for families with younger kids.

Thank Stanps_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Stanps_28,

My name is Jack Tran, I am the owner of Hoi An Eco Tours .Thank you so much for taking your time to review us on the TRIPADVISOR. Thank you very much as well as joining Fisherman tour with our crews. We are very delighted that the Fisherman trip gave you a fantastic opportunity to shoot about the local fisherman ,casting net while touring on the river. We hope those pictures will be the best memories to remind you of Vietnam and Hoi An Eco tours.

We wish you with all the best,

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My team had a fun and enjoyable time under the guided tour by Jack and his team. Jack and his members were friendly and hospitable.

My team had a fun ride on board the ship. The food served and cooked by Captain Cook was the best meal we ever had throughout our stay in Vietnam. Captain Cook was also very sporting and led my team on a fun dance on board the ship.

We also had an unforgettable basket boat ride along the river. We were also impressed by the skills of the local villagers in the Fishing Village to make their houses out of bamboo shoots and their utensils out of coconut husks. It really displays the determination of the villagers towards the aim of eco-friendliness.

We also had our first hand experience of fishing on small fish boats. The fishermen were very experience and patient with us. We learnt to threw the fish net into the water and to pull up the fishing net.

We definitely had an enjoyable day and it was really worth the trip!

Thank ahbosshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear ahbosshy,

This is Jack, the Captain Jack Sparrow and the Captain Cook and the crews from Hoi An Eco-tours !

How fantastic it is to read your review on the TRIPADVISOR !

Thank you so much for joining tour with our crews as well as the local people from the Phuoc Hai fishing village. We are so delighted to see the trip has given you the best experience. It is wonderful to know you were impressive with our local people round boat ride on the river, enjoyed our captain cook dancing and his food serving, the aim of eco- friendliness of coconut utensils made at the village, fishing with local casting nets... All is great and we are so happy to learn about.

Thank you very much for joining tour with us .

We wish you with all the best !

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner - Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The view of the river was nice. Comfy boat. lunch was good. I would prefer longer quiet time to enjoy the river view instead of interaction

Thank 272Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear 272Ling,

Thank you very much for posting your review about on the TRIPADVISOR.As our tour is to invite our guests to engage and to interact into the insight life of local people to make sure that our guests can have their own great experience. However, you are the one who have preferred to enjoy quiet time. We wish if you had informed us about your requirement, we could have been trying to do something for you then.

Anyways, thank you so much for sharing your feelings . We hope to see you back on the next time with a tailoring tour from your own request.

With best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner and Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family of two adults and two young boys (4 y.o and 8 y.o) had a fab time with Sing (Sinh), Cuc (Captain Cook)' Liem and Den, as well as many Hoi An local farmers such as the 69 y.o. Vege granny as well as the old fishermen couple who impressed us with their enthusiasm to tech us their trade!!

We signed up for the "From Farmers to Fishermen" trip. We began the trip being ferried from the hotel via a van to a mobile bike point (the company's truck filled with bikes). Our 8 y.o. had wanted to cycle himself but Sing wisely advised us for him to ferry him as the bike track through the farms and padi fields were narrow and bumpy. That was indeed a great advice, and the boy had farm being ferried by uncle Sing who told him what to look out on the trip and he promptly amplified the pointers to us when we cycled!

We made lots of scenic stops on the way and saw rice paid fields, lotus fields, organic vege farms where we had a hand watering the vege, etc... And interacted with the farmers (land and sea) and water buffalo...

The 2nd part of the trip took us on the boat where our family were taken care by a team of 4 professional guides. They brought us out to fish, did stunts and sang songs on the water baskets, and made lots of impressive craft work from the leaves and awed the two boys. Captain Cook also served us fresh seafood for lunch on boat!

This is by far the best day trip we've ever taken...very professionally planned, coordinated and executed, and made us all felt very welcomed and learnt so much! Kudos to the team!

The price is slightly pricier than most day trips in Southeast Asia, but i would say its worth every bit of the price!!

Thank PuaySze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear PuaySze,

Best greetings from the crews of Hoi An Eco-tours family in Hoi An ancient town- Viet Nam !

Thank you so much for your very honest review on the TRIPADVISOR regarding to our Hoi An Eco-tour's Farmer to Fisherman tour. We are very delighted to see you and your whole family had a fantastic experience with our crews. The fact that our Hoi An Eco-tours focuses on a high tour quality, therefore, we make sure that everything that we do is to bring our guest an unique experience. An unique experience is very important for us as it is the key success to make our guest pleased and satisfied with our tour program and that is the reason why our price is a bit pricier than a bit other in the Southeast Asia but please just trust us as you get for what you paid. We are very pleased that you agree and enjoy with us in that way.

It is also lovely to see the pictures about the Farmer to Fisherman are posted on the TRIPADVISOR. They are delighting your review and driving us towards even better tour quality that we always strive our best to gain it.

Again,on behalf of our family, I am Jack Tran, the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours, I would love to thank you all for having been experienced with family in Hoi An. We wish you and your family with all the best luck and looking forward to seeing you back.

Cheers,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner - Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing