We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly HOI AN ECO-TOUR) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An including activities at Cham island such as fishing and snorkeling and more. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did the farm and fishing tour, had a wonderful experience, from bike riding in rice paddy fields, to a visit to an organic herb farm, water buffalo ride, then on to a boat for net fishing, a basket boat ride and to finish the tour a great lunch cooked by our tour guide and boat crew. One of the best tours I have done!

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Julie H,

Warmest regards from the crews of Hoi An Eco-tours company !

Thank you very much for commenting us on the TRIPADVISOR. We are very happy to learn that you have had a lovely trip with our crews. We hope it will be a great memory about your holiday in Vietnam.

We hope to see you back

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner- Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"eco tour"
in 320 reviews
"captain cook"
in 214 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 380 reviews
"basket boat"
in 286 reviews
"rice"
in 227 reviews
"gangnam style"
in 91 reviews
"fishing nets"
in 113 reviews
"fishing village"
in 167 reviews
"boat crew"
in 60 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 55 reviews
"palm paradise"
in 48 reviews
"great fun"
in 194 reviews
"cast nets"
in 31 reviews
"fishing techniques"
in 28 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 77 reviews
"catch fish"
in 37 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 45 reviews
Filter

2,216 - 2,220 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

It seems just the norm in Vietnam, amazing, helpful, friendly and always accommodating people who are happy, cheeky, nothing is too hard or unreasonable. Our tour was packed with information, beautiful sights and loads of laughs!

The crew were very funny and cooked up a delicious lunch (certainly plenty for empty tummies). The Eco house was just gorgeous and the amazing detail and design was incredible. The locals were just as interactive and cheeky just adding to the tours great feel of the village.

We were recommended by our guide and was advised it would be more fun with a group rather then just two, it certainly added to the tour but I think it would have still been a great tour as the crew were just so interactive with us.

Getting on the little fishing boat and having a crack was fun, especially when one of the guys caught the actual fisherman in the net, he seemed to love it! lol A real hands on tour with lots to see and do.

At the end of our tour we all swapped emails to share our photos as

All round great day and highly recommend for all ages.

Warren and Nicolle (father and daughter)

Thank nickles72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear nickles72,

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. On behalf of my family crews, I would love to write this email to say thank you so much for joining tour with us. We are so delighted to learn you had a wonderful trip with our Fisherman & the waterways.

I would love also to thank you very much for taking your time to post your lovely review about us - HOI AN ECO-TOURS on the TRIPADVISOR. This is such an amazing traveling site that a lot of our online clients now are using to book directly with us thru our website.

Once again, thank you so much for coming with us. We hope to see you back.

Best regards,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I highly recommend this tour, it was really amazing - the perfect combination between just taking the sights in and actually learning about central Vietnam. We first biked around on peaceful back roads near rice paddies, and since our youngest family member cannot ride a bicycle, he was kindly taken around by a motorbike by another tour guide. We got the opportunity to learn about algae farming, using water buffalo for farming, and we even got the chance to ride on the back of one! Next, we biked to an organic farm where we were shown and also got the opportunity to try to water vegetables. We even picked up herbs for the lunch we'd be eating later. We were taken to a dock, where our boat was waiting. Here, we swam to different places and learned different fishing methods (as before, we were able to try all of them, successfully catching fish). We toured the beautiful mangroves on little wooden boats, and heard about their history in regards to the Vietnam War. It was a breathtaking experience. After swimming to a little island to learn and try more fishing methods, we left for lunch on the big boat. It was cooked right then and there for us, and was absolutely delicious. A must for anyone looking for hands-on activities!

Thank dkz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear dkz100,

What a lovely comment on the TRIPADVISOR ! Thank you so much for joining Farming & Fishing life tour with Hoi An Eco-tours. It is so nice to learn that you have had a beautiful trip with our crews. We hope it will be "unforgettable memory" with our family. Please just be informed that the boat that you mentioned into your review was not our boat. It is our neighbor's. You can see our Hoi An Eco-tours in the the picture which is big, safe and very comfortable.

Again, on behalf of our crews, we would like to thank you very much for a great experience with our family. We wish to welcome you back

With kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner- Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had the best fun on this trip. We went out in the little basket boats, tried our hand at fishing, casting a net and trying to raise the heavy fishing nets. After all this activity we had a truly memorable lunch prepared by Jack's mum and spent the rest of the time relaxing on the boat with our other shipmates. The crew were helpful and very good fun so a great time was had by all. We would definitely recommend this trip if vising Hoi An.

Thank c23spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear c23spd,

Best greetings from Hoi An Eco-tours family !

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. Thank you very much for joining Fisherman & the waterways with us. It is so good to know about your wonderful experience of the fishing trip with local people. I am sure now that you know how to row the round basket boat, cast net throwing and enjoy a very good lunch cooked by our captain cook on board.

Thank you very much by the ways for reviewing us on the TRIPADVISOR.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner- Hoi An Eco tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our Travel IndoChina tour took us with Jack Tran's Hoian Eco-Tour. This tour went out on "Basket Boats" to their larger wooden boat to experience fishing using cast nets and shown how to cast from a small boat and from the beach, witness the ancient method of raising a large net using a wooden windlass and visiting a typical fisher man's simple dwelling. We then cruised through Water Coconut Palm Canals and were part of a basket boat race, all a lot of fun and very interesting.
I would recommend Jack Tran's Hoian Eco-tour to anyone visiting Vietnam.

Thank 6Leon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear 6Leon6,

Warmest greeting from Hoi An Eco-tour family !

Thank you very much for taking your time reviewing us on the TRIPADVISOR. We are so glad to see how wonderful your trip was with Hoi An Eco-tours on the fisherman & the waterways via your agent Travel Indochina !

We strongly believe that your recommendation about our family will be very helpful for everyone when they are staying in Hoi An and looking for something to experience.

With all the best wishes to you and your family.

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing