We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half day family trip close to Hoi An”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Buffalo Cart Day Trip from Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 150 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours ( Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the real life of the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming community in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently did a half day fishing and waterways trip with Hoi An Eco Tours. We found the owner Jack and all his crew to be very friendly and professional, and were very impressed with the way the company was run. It's always good to see an owner accompany a tour and it was great to see that despite his company's success Jack still lives in the fishing village around which the tour is based and employs a lot of his extended family, friends and neighbours to help out. There was an obvious genuine camaraderie amongst the crew and between the crew and Jack.

Our children of 10 and 7 loved the basket boats in particular, and the Gangham Style basket boat demonstration by some of the crew was a big highlight for them. The crew made a big fuss of the kids, letting them paddle the boats and helping them throw the nets - such attention always goes a long way towards parent's enjoyment. Even though you don't go too far from Hoi An you still feel like you are in the "real Vietnam", seeing life as it really is for those who derive their livelihood from the sea.

I really liked the idea of the (optional) tip box at the end which is shared amongst all the crew. It took the stress out of the whole "who should we tip, who shouldn't we tip" question which is something we found a bit awkward on occasions when travelling around Vietnam.

Our only disappointment was because of the time of day and the tides we didn't see a lot of fish being caught but they do have a sunrise and sunset cruise where you are likely to see more action. We were worried about how hot it would be in the midday sun but because you are in the boat which has good shade and are out on the water the breeze makes it very pleasant. Food for lunch was very fresh and very tasty. Highly recommended.

Thank Laradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Laradam,

My name is Jack Tran. I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. I have read your excellent review on the TRIPADVISOR and really appreciate it.

Thank you very much as well for having spent your time with our Fisherman & the waterways. I am very happy to hear that your kids love our Eco-tour's basket boat gangnam style on the river. I am also very pleased the fact that you mentioned about our local neighbor and crews and me in our camaraderie. YES, we have done it very well and so proud of it as it has worked out and help each other.

Thank you so much once again for joining tour with our crews. We wish to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Jack, the neighbor and the crews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
There are newer reviews for Jack Tran Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,931 - 1,935 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

A thoroughly enlightening day, a fun day, with wonderful food and fantastic friendly people.
Captain Cook and his crew, Sing, Anh, Cuc, and not forgetting Ngan. They could not have done enough to make our day more memorable. Go....just go. They should You tube the experience of a Bamboo boat Gangam style...if it does not go viral I will eat my Tilley hat. ( I hadn't got a video camera with me.)



Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear RosieH6883,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours family crews !

We are very delighted to read your fantastic review on the TRIPADVISOR. Thank you so much for taking your time to do. We would like also to thank you very much for joining tour with our crews Sinh, Anh and Cuc on board . It so nice to learn that you had a great see about unique Eco-tour's Gangnam Style on the basket boat. Definitely, it will be worthy to be on the YOU TUBE experience for people to enjoy !

Once again, on behalf of our crews, my name is Jack Tran, I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours.I would like to express my biggest thanks for joining tour with us.

We wish you would be back and keep recommending our Eco-tours to your clients in the future.

With best wishes,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fun and information morning with Hoian eco-tour. Rode comfortable bikes through rice paddy fields with Tien, a friendly young female guide. Rode a water buffalo and saw an organic herb farm. Met one of the farmer's a tried traditional watering method. Then boarded a boat with Giap (Cap't Cook) and Liem. Observed fisherman and wife in their traditional boat and got to try it out. Then Liem took us through the water coconut grove in the circular bamboo boat. Finally one of the best meals we had in Vietnam was cooked and served to us, including three little fish we caught. Overall a very special experience.

Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Caroline C,

Thank you so much for taking your time to evaluate our Hoi An Eco-tours services on the TRIPADVISOR. We are so pleased to learn that you have had a great Farming & Fishing life experience with our crews Mr. Liem, crazy basket boat rider, Ms Tien our new and young and enthusiastic tour guide and Captain Cook, Mr Giap who is one of the funniest and most talent in riding and cooking for you on board.

On behalf of the crews, my name is Jack Tran, the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours would like to express our biggest thanks for joining tour with us. We strongly believe to have brought you a feeling of being experienced about the locals people in the countryside of Vietnam.

You are expected to be warmly welcomed back in the future.

Best wishes,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Hoi An Eco-tours - Owner and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks in Vietnam and this farm and fishing tour was one of the standout experiences. We booked our trip through Global Basecamps and they highly recommended this tour. They were right. Don't miss it. Our guides, Giap, Tien and Liem were wonderful! We biked through the countryside to the organic farm, rode the water buffalo and then on to meet the local fisherman and try our hand at throwing the nets. This is one of the best ways to see and experience traditional daily life in Vietnam. And to enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the Vietnamese people. Then, to top it off, Captain Cook prepared, right on the boat, one of the best meals we had in Vietnam--and that's saying a lot!

Thank cworld55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear cworld55,

I am Jack Tran. I am the owner of Hoi An Eco-tours. Thank you so much for posting your review on the TRIPADVISOR. How wonderful it is to learn that you had such a great time with our crews.

We wish you had had a memorable holiday in Vietnam and looking forward to welcoming you back.

With all the best luck,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend a wonderful day on the water with Hoi An Eco Tours. It was a good mix of boating, traditional fishing, crazy round boat races, and Vietnamese hospitality and culture. Hoi An Eco Tours have a lovely team and the lunch (prepared by Jack's mother) was some of the best Vietnamese food of the whole trip.
We enjoyed the day so much we are going back and taking 30 friends with us. Can't wait.

1  Thank Wawata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Wawata,

Warmest regards from Jack, Jack's mother and Captain Cook as well as the crews of Hoi An Eco-tours !

Thank you very much joining tour with us and taking your time to write your review about us on the TRIPADVISOR. It is great to learn you had a very good time with my family and we are so excited to welcome 30 of your friends back with us soon. We will do our best to please everyone as much as we can.

Good luck and see you soon !

Best wishes from Captain Cook,the crews and my mother, Ms Rose

Jack Tran
Owner of Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing