We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Buffalo Cart Day Trip from Hoi An
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 146 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours ( Formerly Hoi An Eco-tour) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the real life of the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming community in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Fishermen & The Waterways tour is so different from what I have done and I really enjoyed the different activities. I was very intrigued by the round bamboo basket boats when I saw them for the first time about 2 weeks ago and I never imagined then that I will have a chance to paddle in one. Thank you very much for making that possible. It was very interesting to see the fishermen throw the fishing nets from the small narrow fishing boats and was glad that I had a chance to have a go at that. The visit to the coconut palm village was special too and loved the glasses, ring, bracelet and hat made from the leaves of the water coconut palm leaves. A wonderful tour and excellent service and thanks for the taking the photos.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Jly48,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours crews !

Thank you so much for reviewing us on the Trip Advisor. It is big pleasure to welcome you on board and make you have a wonderful trip with our crews and local people on the river. We are also very pleased to know that you had a great opportunity to ride a round basket boat after you have seen it in Viet Nam and joined how to cast a net with local fishermen at a local fishing village. We are also very happy to know that you had been offered with a lot of funny toys made from the water coconut palm leaf such as ring, bracelet, hat, bird, grasshoppers... and other. Once again, thank you very much for your participation into our Fisherman & the waterways Eco-tour.

We wish with all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,226
    178
    14
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Dai, Den, Liem, Trong, Do, Sinh & Em made this tour a true adventure! Wonderful tour with excellent service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathelijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Kathelijne,

Thank you so much for your review on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn you had a great trip with our ECO-TOUR's crews.

Best regards and thanks,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours Co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic trip, couldn't fault it! Be careful when booking as there are two websites, use the one on here and Jack will get back to you promptly. Not sure which was my favorite part, riding the water buffalo, watering the gardens, fishing or the basket boats. The Vietnamese ladies who were teaching me songs and laughing a lot at my pronunciation were outstanding. Dressed head to toe in leaf outfits it was a day filled with laughter and fun! The food was great and the people so welcoming. All the staff from captain cook to the tour guides were great! Would highly recommend this!

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Laura C,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours crews !

Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing us on the Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you had a fantastic experience with our Farming & Fishing Life ECO-TOUR.

We wish you with all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With best wishes,

Jack Tran
Owner- Hoi An Eco-tours Co,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eco Fishing Tour - The perfect way to spend Christmas Day!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A magical day in fishing basket, learning to throw round fishing nets, pulling in giant fishing nets and eating a feast on the boat - the staff were amazing and their skills extended to making us an assortment of hats, rings, grasshoppers etc out of the water coconut palm leaves. It really was an experience you shouldn't miss if you are in the area. Thanks to Giap, Don, Nong, Em and Sinh

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Emma R,

Thank you very much Emma for taking your time to review us on the Trip Advisor. How nice it is to hear that you enjoyed the Fisherman & the waterways tour a lot. We wish you with all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards,

Jack Tran
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of fishermen (and fisher woman) and waterways”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Booked this tour (called Hoi An fisherman and the waterways)in Australia before leaving but you can easily book it when you are in hoi an as well. Just make sure you get the right tour as there is another one with a similar name. I met the owner "jack tran" after the tour and he is a delightful young man who runs a very good business with a number of "experience" type tours.

Doing this tour as a woman on my own was not a problem. They looked after me really well...even offering to take photos of me throwing a net and rowing (well attempting to) the round bamboo boat...so I have some great memories captured in photos.

There was a very clean toilet on the boat which was good as you are mostly out on the water....when not having tea and walking through the delightful fishing village.

Fantastic lunch on board the boat cooked fresh by Captain Cook. As this is a family business you might have Jacks father cooking for you.

Thank you to all the team on the boat who looked after me so well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear AustraliaMaree,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on the Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience with Hoi An Eco-tours. Thank you so much as well for reminding other people to get the right Eco-tour as there is a similar name which looks similar with us on the Trip Advsior. It was also nice to have meet you at the hotel then.

Again, thank you so much for joining tour with us and I hope you had a great time with our crews.

We wish you with all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner - Hoi An Eco-tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing