We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$43.00*
and up
Sunrise Fish Market Tour in Hoi An
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 151 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly HOI AN ECO-TOUR) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very interesting tour and excellent guide Vang. In fact, minimum 2 persons required on this tour, but they've made the whole trip only for me alone! Except investigating peasants' life and vietnamese village, I was offered so delicious lunch, consisting of 6 or 7 dishes!
Was impressed very much by this experience. Highly recommended!
The office is located right opposite the bridge across the river, in An Hoi.

Thank Val_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Val_Elena,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours Family Company in Hoi An- Viet Nam !

My name is Jack Tran ( Mr.). I am the Managing Director and Owner of Hoi An Eco-tour company. Regarding to your review, I am pretty sure that your review is posted at the wrong address. We have no office right opposite of Japanese bridge as you mentioned. However, we have been working with most of hotels/resort in Hoi An ancient city. Please just ask the hotel reception and you will get a lot of information about our original Hoi An Eco-tours . Once again, I would like just to re-correct the information so that travelers will know exactly to get the right one when they would like to book a trip with our crews.

With best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner and Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,107 of 2,513 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I went on this trip mid holiday in Hoi An. Our resort sorted it all out for us and we were picked up right outside our hotel (Victoria Hoi An Beach resort). We traveled down the river on a larger local boat, which we were glad of as the weather was rather bad at the time ( rather windy). When we picked up the bamboo boats from a pole mid river, we all looked at each other with worried faces as they seemed so small and the water so choppy. Luckily we towed them into the sheltered part of the river before we actually got in them. We also met up with a local fisherman on his boat and shown how to fish using a thrown net. We all took it in turn to get on his boat and have a go which was great fun. Then it was time to "row" the bamboo boats down the inner river to a local village where we got out and had a cup of tea with a local lady, who also showed us around her family home which her husband had build entirely out of bamboo. To end the trip we got back on the bigger boat and stopped off at a beach were we had another go at net fishing from the beach.

I would defiantly recommend this tour to anyone looking for something to do in the Hoi An area, both for couples or for families.

Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear n0rf0lk_lad,

I am Jack Tran, The Owner & Managing Director of Hoi An Eco-tours Company. Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your review about us on the Trip Advisor. Despite the fact that the weather were rather windy then but it did not affect much to your Fisherman & the waterways trip with us. I think one of the funny part that you mentioned is about the round basket boat. One who has never experienced, will be worry and scared. But, in fact, it is very stable which can load ten of Vietnamese and 5 of American guys which requires a technique balance to row. As long as it is not controlled, it will get around and around. And that is the reason why it is called the "round boat" The local people call it " THUNG CHAI" that has been being used now in the ocean for fishing from since hundred years ago. So, it is very safe when it is sailing on the river even the water is a bit choppy but there is no problem at all !

We are also happy to hear about your time with local people at the palm forest that you got a chance to sit down and had a cup of tea and visit their Eco house whose things are built only from bamboo.

Once again, thank you very much for joining tour with HOI AN ECO-TOURS. Your recommendation to your family and friends will be highly appreciated.

We wish you have a great trip in Vietnam and looking forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A huge thank you to Hoi An Eco Tours for a great day out!!
The Fisherman and Waterways Tour was so interesting and the lunch provided was exceptional. The guides make this tour outstanding!!
We will be telling all of our friends about Hoi An Eco Tours......

Thank Aly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Aly P,

Thank you so much Aly for joining tour with us. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful trip with our crews on board. If you come back Viet Nam again in the future, why don't you join with us to try more our Eco-tours ?!!

Once again, we do appreciate your review on the Trip Advisor. We believe it will be very useful for other travelers to have a great experience with our family crews.

With best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our hotel near Hoi An arranged this 4-hour afternoon tour for us. I have to admit that I was horrified when I realised that I was expected to get into one of these "basket boats" so that we could transfer to the larger vessel which was to take us along the Cua Dai river! Even more anxious when a total of four adults were sitting in the boat - but, these little boats are so buoyant and just seem to skim across the water - just amazing. We were all equipped with life jackets and the crew quite obviously took safety very seriously. All the passengers had an opportunity to try casting a fishing net and paddling a basket boat. We learnt about the life of people in the local fishing villages as well as the impact of the American-Vietnamese War on the local people. The crew showed their skills at making hats, flowers, animals, etc. from the coconut palm and were very entertaining. Cold drinks were provided and the crew spoke excellent English. We had a very enjoyable afternoon and would recommend this tour.

Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Sue H,

Thank you very much for joining tour with us. We are very happy to learn about your experience with our crews especially the tiny round basket boat that made you horrified at the beginning when you were asked to sit on that. It was turning out that you had a great time while paddling throughout the water coconut palm forest to learn about the USA/VIETNAM WAR before 1968 then. We are also very pleased to hear about a lot of hats, sunglasses, birds, grasshopper .....made from the palm leaves to make you funny. We believe that Fisherman and the waterways has pleased your stay in Hoi An then. Once again, thank you very much for being our guests and we wish to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hoi An Eco-Tour is a great and environmentally friendly way to see of Hoi An. We joined the Fishermen and the Waterways Tour, which lived up to the expectations we had beforehand. The crew was great, as was our guide, Jack Tran. On the river we met up with local fishermen (and women), and we all had a turn at trying their way of fishing. The highlight of the tour was when we paddled basket boats through the coconut-palm waterways. On board we also enjoyed a nice meal of fresh seafood. Hoi An Eco-tour is a company with great respect for nature and sustainable tourism, who can also offer fun, memorable tours!

Thank Hanneiutlandet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Hanneiutlandet,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on the Trip Advisor. We highly evaluate it. We hope what you said will give travelers a vision how we are running our business towards a sutainable tourism to protect the environment and share the profit from tourism to the local community.

Thank you a lot for experiencing with our company.

Best regards,

Jack Tran
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing