We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour in Hoi An!!”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$43.00*
and up
Sunrise Fish Market Tour in Hoi An
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
Ranked #1 of 151 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly HOI AN ECO-TOUR) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A huge thank you to Hoi An Eco Tours for a great day out!!
The Fisherman and Waterways Tour was so interesting and the lunch provided was exceptional. The guides make this tour outstanding!!
We will be telling all of our friends about Hoi An Eco Tours......

Thank Aly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Aly P,

Thank you so much Aly for joining tour with us. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful trip with our crews on board. If you come back Viet Nam again in the future, why don't you join with us to try more our Eco-tours ?!!

Once again, we do appreciate your review on the Trip Advisor. We believe it will be very useful for other travelers to have a great experience with our family crews.

With best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,109 of 2,513 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our hotel near Hoi An arranged this 4-hour afternoon tour for us. I have to admit that I was horrified when I realised that I was expected to get into one of these "basket boats" so that we could transfer to the larger vessel which was to take us along the Cua Dai river! Even more anxious when a total of four adults were sitting in the boat - but, these little boats are so buoyant and just seem to skim across the water - just amazing. We were all equipped with life jackets and the crew quite obviously took safety very seriously. All the passengers had an opportunity to try casting a fishing net and paddling a basket boat. We learnt about the life of people in the local fishing villages as well as the impact of the American-Vietnamese War on the local people. The crew showed their skills at making hats, flowers, animals, etc. from the coconut palm and were very entertaining. Cold drinks were provided and the crew spoke excellent English. We had a very enjoyable afternoon and would recommend this tour.

Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Sue H,

Thank you very much for joining tour with us. We are very happy to learn about your experience with our crews especially the tiny round basket boat that made you horrified at the beginning when you were asked to sit on that. It was turning out that you had a great time while paddling throughout the water coconut palm forest to learn about the USA/VIETNAM WAR before 1968 then. We are also very pleased to hear about a lot of hats, sunglasses, birds, grasshopper .....made from the palm leaves to make you funny. We believe that Fisherman and the waterways has pleased your stay in Hoi An then. Once again, thank you very much for being our guests and we wish to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hoi An Eco-Tour is a great and environmentally friendly way to see of Hoi An. We joined the Fishermen and the Waterways Tour, which lived up to the expectations we had beforehand. The crew was great, as was our guide, Jack Tran. On the river we met up with local fishermen (and women), and we all had a turn at trying their way of fishing. The highlight of the tour was when we paddled basket boats through the coconut-palm waterways. On board we also enjoyed a nice meal of fresh seafood. Hoi An Eco-tour is a company with great respect for nature and sustainable tourism, who can also offer fun, memorable tours!

Thank Hanneiutlandet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Hanneiutlandet,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on the Trip Advisor. We highly evaluate it. We hope what you said will give travelers a vision how we are running our business towards a sutainable tourism to protect the environment and share the profit from tourism to the local community.

Thank you a lot for experiencing with our company.

Best regards,

Jack Tran
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A huge Thank you to Cuc, Em, Do, Bai and Sinh for a brilliant time. My partner and I went on the fishing and waterways tour and had an absolutely fantastic time. The team were great fun and made the experience all the better. We learnt about river fishing as well as learning to cast the nets. Got to paddle the basket boats through the river coconut forest and learnt some interesting facts about the American and Vietnam War. The guys looked after us well. At the time of the trip I was 20 weeks pregnant and they really looked after me, making sure I got on and off the boat safely. After learning about the locals homes and fishing we had a fantastic lunch on board - the food just kept coming and coming! I will definitely be recommending this tour to all my friends, family and even customers! Thank you again!

Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Isobel P,

Your great review on the T.A is deeply appreciated. We do believe it will be very helpful for other travelers or any one who wants to go with us or even a pregnant woman that she is able to book her trip with our crews . Thank you so much for joining tour with our crews and it is so nice to hear your wonderful trip with HOI AN ECO-TOURS.

We are very happy if you could recommend our Eco-tours services to your family and friends

Take care and all the best,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I would definitively recommend this trip to anyone who loves to get in touch with the real part of the city you are visiting. The food served is excellent and the crew we had was friendly, funny and informative. We learned how to cast a fishing net with the help of an experienced fisherman and his wife. On top of that we also had the opportunity to ride in basket boats and visit a local woman's house. She very kindly invited us onto her patio and served us coconut and rice crackers with green tea. It was an amazing experience and a very special opportunity.
This trip is great for all ages!
ENJOY!

Thank Julz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Julz V,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours Family !

Thank you so much for joining tour with our crews. We are very glad to learn about your wonderful trip with us. On behalf of the crew members, I am Jack Tran, the Owner and Managing Director would love to say a huge thank for experiencing. We wish you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jack Tran & the crews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing