We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour!”
Review of Jack Tran Tours

Jack Tran Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Hoi An Farming and Fishing Life Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
2.5-hour Sunset River Cruise and Basket Boat Rowing in Hoi An
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Small-Group Hoi An Country Life Agricultural Experience
Ranked #1 of 153 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jack Tran Tours (Formerly HOI AN ECO-TOUR) is a local Vietnamese fishing family-run business that shows travelers about the vietnamese people how they live, work and eat. We specialize in organizing and hosting cultural tours in and around Hoi An. We do this by engaging local Vietnamese people who: provide knowledgeable commentary; demonstrate traditional fishing and farming techniques; and then provide our guests with the opportunity for some hands-on experiences. Jack Tran Tours is to provide our guest with the opportunity to experience first hand the authentic daily lives of the local fishing and farming communities in and around Hoi An. Our guests benefit through a much deeper appreciation and respect for our people and our way of life - as well as having a thoroughly enjoyable and safe experience with many, many wonderful photo memories of their time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A huge Thank you to Cuc, Em, Do, Bai and Sinh for a brilliant time. My partner and I went on the fishing and waterways tour and had an absolutely fantastic time. The team were great fun and made the experience all the better. We learnt about river fishing as well as learning to cast the nets. Got to paddle the basket boats through the river coconut forest and learnt some interesting facts about the American and Vietnam War. The guys looked after us well. At the time of the trip I was 20 weeks pregnant and they really looked after me, making sure I got on and off the boat safely. After learning about the locals homes and fishing we had a fantastic lunch on board - the food just kept coming and coming! I will definitely be recommending this tour to all my friends, family and even customers! Thank you again!

Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Isobel P,

Your great review on the T.A is deeply appreciated. We do believe it will be very helpful for other travelers or any one who wants to go with us or even a pregnant woman that she is able to book her trip with our crews . Thank you so much for joining tour with our crews and it is so nice to hear your wonderful trip with HOI AN ECO-TOURS.

We are very happy if you could recommend our Eco-tours services to your family and friends

Take care and all the best,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,135 - 2,139 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I would definitively recommend this trip to anyone who loves to get in touch with the real part of the city you are visiting. The food served is excellent and the crew we had was friendly, funny and informative. We learned how to cast a fishing net with the help of an experienced fisherman and his wife. On top of that we also had the opportunity to ride in basket boats and visit a local woman's house. She very kindly invited us onto her patio and served us coconut and rice crackers with green tea. It was an amazing experience and a very special opportunity.
This trip is great for all ages!
ENJOY!

Thank Julz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Julz V,

Warmest regards from Hoi An Eco-tours Family !

Thank you so much for joining tour with our crews. We are very glad to learn about your wonderful trip with us. On behalf of the crew members, I am Jack Tran, the Owner and Managing Director would love to say a huge thank for experiencing. We wish you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jack Tran & the crews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We did the Fishing and Waterways tour with Hoi An Eco Tours, and had a ball. The guys on the boat are not just great fun and entertaining, but they take care to ensure you get on and off the boat safely. We were taken out onto the river where we met up with some fishermen who showed us how to throw a circular net; then we all had a go. Afterwards we hopped into basket boats and were paddled into an amazing area where palm trees grow in the water, and then given tea and eats at a local home, and a walk through the village. After that we went to another beach and practised with the fishing nets again, played beach cricket, and had a go at deploying the large submersible fishing nets. The crew made us a fabulous meal on board. We had a great day and would recommend this tour to everyone.

Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Limotrav,

Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing us on the Trip Advisor. We are very glad to learn about your wonderful trip with our family crews. We strongly believe that Fishing trip and the waterways has delighted your holiday in Vietnam.

We wish to say thank you very much once again for joining tour with us and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kindest regards,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours Co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We did the "Fishing and the waterways" tour with Jack and his crew. Me and my friend are writing a paper about sustainable tourism and Jack invited us to join one of his tours. It was great fun but we also learnt a lot!

We started of by learning to throw fishing nets, then we went on a basket boat ride, visited a local village, learned to throw some more nets and other methods to catch fish. At the end we had a grat lunch on the boat.

The crew was very nice and funny! They made us lots of things from coconut leafs and even let us steer the boat.

Seeing how the locals live is really interesting. They are very focused on sustainable tourism and try to make better living conditions for the people living in the village. Jack is from the village himself and his parents also work for him.

I would highly recommend going on a tour with Hoi An Eco-tour!

Thank Hege L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Heege,

We do appreciate your great review on the Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for joining tour with our family. Your recommendation about HOI AN ECO-TOURS to your friends will be appreciated.

With all the best,

Jack Tran ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
Hoi An Eco-tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were treated like Royalty by the Team at Hoi An echo tours. It was such a fabulous fun morning. They were extremely safety conscious but combined that with hilarious fun and a great variety of experiences. The basket boats were a thrill to try and paddle, casting a net was ambitious and trying to operate the manual winch system to raise a large static net a real challenge. However we caught a small number of fish and size isn't everything. Captain Cuc is a very proficient skipper and a great cook. His crew is attentive, good fun and very athletic. Lunch was close to the best authentic and beautifully tasting meal we have had Vietnam so far......and cooked in the boat! Their knowledge of the locality and some interesting history interspersed with the crew making a variety of animals, toys, hats, spectacles and jewellery lent for a truly magical experience that we would recommend as a "must do" for anyone with a half day to spare. These people are keen to promote echo tourism and deserve any visitors support.

Thank cageyduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT734, Owner at Jack Tran Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Cageyduchess,

How wonderful it has been to read your such a fantastic review on the Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for spending a lovely time with our crews. We are extremely happy to learn all of your wonderful activities on board with our Hoi An Eco-tours team from adventuring round basket boat, toy made of palm leaf with different and funny gift offering, fishing with cast net and manual winch large net setting up to enjoying captain cook CUC's yummy food cooked on board. All were pretty nice to hear about !

In deed, we have been always working very hard on every trip to make sure that anyone who comes with us will be served like " THE KING" .

Thank you very much for joining tour with us. We wish you come back Hoi An in the future to enjoy more our different Eco-tours including of many activities like Wet Rice experience, Farming & Fishing life, Early sunrise cruise or fishing village sunset trip.

With all the best,

Jack TRAN ( Mr.)
Owner & Managing Director
HOI AN ECO-TOURS Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tran Tours also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Jack Tran Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing