We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Hoi An”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #144 of 1,174 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $26
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Elegant restaurant hidden away in a narrow alley. Food was was great, the service is second to none and the ambiance is wonderful. There was a classical guitarist playing during our visit who was exceptional. Easily the best restaurant we dined at during our vacation. The only place I had red wine served at the right temperature.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr.PETER,
We are so happy to have your kind word. Thank you so much.
We were afraid of the temperature of the red wine serving by the glass as our opened bottles have to be reserved coolly. Your comment indeed help us being more confident.
We are looking forward to having another chance of serving you.
All the best for you and family,
Uy TRAN, the owner and Secret team in Hoian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

What a great place to indulge fine food great service nice an quiet location nothing we’d to much for the friendly staff second time have been there as good as the first hope next time is as good

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank rkelly2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Ms.KELLY,
Thank you so much for your kind word. What a big help for Secret Garden. We are so hidden thus really needing guest's recommendation.
We wish to see you again on your next trip to Hoian.
We wish you and your family all the best,
Uy TRAN, the owner and Secret team in Hoian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Omg! What an excellent restaurant. So delvist food, very friendly staff, and the sorroundings were so exotic.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Lærke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Dear our esteemed guest,
We are so happy to know that you were pleased with Secret Garden. Thank you so much for your kind word.
We wish to have another chance of serving you very soon.
All the best for you and family,
Secret Garden team in Hoian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

What a great dinner. We had the pork ribs, spring rolls, and shrimp. Such a good location and service we signed up for the lunch cooking class with Tom the next day. He took us down to the market to pickup the ingredients then we came back and cooked everything with the chef Cuco. Then we got to eat everything. Just the two of us in the class which was awesome. Great job guys, awesome way to spend a day.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TIAdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Dear our esteemed guests,
We are so happy to know that you were pleased with Secret Garden. Thank you so much for your kind word. In ten years, we were insisting on Homestyle cooking class, try to make our guests feeling more comfortable, like they are cooking for family. Tom even Mrs.Cuc who have no academic training of cooking but they work with passion and enthusiasm.
Once again, we would like to express our deep gratitude to you. We wish both of you the best health and a prosperity.
All kind regards,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team in Hoian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal and the service by Tom was very good.
We saw a number of people being turned away, so make a reservation to avoid disappointment.
The Hoi An specials are only available at lunchtime, so if that is your goal to enjoy the particular cuisine, obviously go then.
It is a quiet refuge and well worth the search to find it.
Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret_Garden_Hoian, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear Mr.Bruce,

Your few thoughts were like embracing all of the selling points of Secret Garden. Thank you so much. This's not only a kind support but also a motivation for us to keep stepping forwards.

Yes, the restaurant was extremely busy during the National holiday. Our room was almost over-loaded thus the tardiness of the service. We do hope that situation didnot bother you too much.

We wish you and family all the best. Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Uy TRAN, the owner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing