We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restraunt experience in Vietnam”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #69 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restraunt experience in Vietnam”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is not possible to say enough good things about this place. Great food, wonderful atmosphere, live music and friendly staff. They also have a cooking class that you can take. We are disappointed we ran out of time, and were unable to try it out. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially for a couples night out. We can't wait for our next visit to Hoi An. This will be our first stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeforeWeGoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    358
    132
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stumbled across the Secret Garden whilst looking for another restaurant and what a great find it turned out to be.
The food and service were excellent and the cost was reasonable.
We also noticed a cooking class in which the participants were showing great enthusiasm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely place hidden away, food was tasty and service attentive. The prices were higher than other Vietnamese restaurants but I think the lovely surrounds made up for it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adambadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pretty setting”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for our last night in Hoi An .

Took a bit of finding down a back alley . Food was good , some entertainment on hand ( chap with a guitar and girl singing occasional songs )
The food was good but the restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere being only 25% occupied .
On balance we thought Cargo was a better overall experience .

The only downside was that I was ill the next afternoon. I am not blaming the restaurant as it could have been anything else and the rest if our party was fine but feel obliged to mention it given the meal could have contributed .
That said I would go back .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7777markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
436 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We did a cooking class here and really enjoyed the experience except for our guide who was a bit snippy. The cook, who spoke no English, was marvelous and very attentive. Once we finished the cooking we were ushered to a table and fed, but no one came to ask us how we were doing or to see if we needed anything else. We were unceremoniously given our drink bill and a packet of rice paper and recipes and we were on our way. The food was very good and the experience was well worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing