We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - worth the search”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #70 of 808 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $48
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened from Jan 18th 2009, we were serving authentic Vietnamese foods with a large drink-menu of 78 wine names from 17 countries and 36 selected international cocktails. We also operate daily cooking course with capacity of under 8 participants per class. A venue of fine dining place, tranquil privacy in an atmosphere of greenery and live music performed by the best classic guitarist in town. For further information, please find us on internet. The access can be found easily in one of three alleys next to 69 Phan Chu Trinh.St, or 56 Le Loi.St, or 130 Tran Phu.St. Please donot mistake ours with the mimic restaurant nearby us, which was recently opened with very similar name. We are isolated Secret Garden in Hoi An, legally opened from 2009 hereby warming welcome you.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved it - worth the search”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were given a voucher from our tailor, loved it and returned the following evening. Worth the hunt

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    366
    136
    54
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - service a bit hit and miss”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The setting, in a leafy courtyard, was beautiful and romantic. Food was great. The service was mainly good, our waitress was great but the head waitress was surly and didn't seem to crack a smile.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank danielle4red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
1 review
“Sharing these nice moments”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Secret Garden...our little slice of heaven. Great food, amazing service. The music, atmosphere and company make the world slow down and time stand still. Lost in a moment, we will forever remember our visit to the Secret Garden. Thanks for reminding us that magic still exists and dreams do come true.

Nathan & Lindsay _ Indiana USA

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in a different world”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We discovered the little “Secret Garden” by mistake but we enjoyed it very much! The staff were absolutely terrific and made it a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable experience. The chef was patient and kind. We had an excellent time at the cooking class. I did cooking on my own and was treated very specially. We enjoyed the market greatly. Would highly recommend this to anyone of any age (we are own 20’s).

Oaire & Lian _ Scotland

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth finding!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My friend and I were lucky enough that our hotel (Boutique Hotel in Hoi An) recommended this cooking class to us. A car came and delivered us and offered to return us after the experience. Great service.
The Secret Garden is tucked away in the alleyways of Hoi An. It is worth seeking out for a meal as the atmosphere and food is delightful - peaceful too as it is tucked away from the rush and hub-bub of the tourist side of Hoi An.
The class we did started with a comprehensive tour of the markets where food 'stuffs', condiments etc were explained. I would never have appreciated the markets had it not been through this experience.
Cooking was something neither my friend nor I are good at, but I need to say, that did not matter as we were gently coaxed in to cutting, slicing, dicing, cooking and preparing the dishes we were later to eat. It was fun as well as educational. I have no hesitation in recommending the class (and the restaurant) for tired travelers who are interested in Vietnamese food and culture and like to do more than shop.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing