We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 Yrs / 5 generations - authentic Cau Lao”
Review of Trung Bac

Trung Bac
Ranked #303 of 786 Restaurants in Hoi An
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“100 Yrs / 5 generations - authentic Cau Lao”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Was recommended to us from a local in Saigon. You can get Cau Lao everywhere, but like that this restaurant has been serving it through 5 generations for the past 100 years. It was excellent. Also got the "white rose" - another Hoi An special, it was good, but a little greasy. And they had very yummy fried wontons - another Hoi An must. Over all our meal for 2 people came to under $10 including drinks - no need to go the to expensive tourist restaurants when the local ones are just as good, if not better and more authentic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flavorQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    53
    24
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The set menu is delicious with decent portion, so you will not waste but just full after trying many different dishes. It's a lovely place. Worth to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanwu_SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best cau lau in Hoi An”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Traditional cau lau can be difficult to find in Hoi An. We tried several places until a shop assistant suggested this place. This is a simple family run restaurant where their home is in the back of the restaurant. The food was superb!!!!! We each ate 2 bowls of cau lau and couldve eaten more it was so tasty.
They cater for vegetarians as well

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Authentic Hoi An Cuisine”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If u are looking for a good, no frills meal at a reasonable price, this is the plavce to be. The food is very tasty and authentic. Cao Lao is a must try but I must say I preferred the beef version.
Other must tries are the fried wanton and banh xeo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great local food, nice old house”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We learnt of this place from the Wikitravel article on Hoi An. We loved the food - cheap, tasty and authentic local food in a place that says "old Hoi An", and has free wi-fi. The cao lau was the firm favorite, and we went there twice for it. It's a combination of rather firm noodles, very fresh and fragrant vegetables, sliced pork (there are other combinations), some crispy stuff, tossed in a great sauce. The place is not very distinctive on the outside, but worth looking for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Singfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trung Bac also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Trung Bac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing