We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a romantic dinner”

CAVA Restaurant & WineCafe
Ranked #146 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dine in the Chefs House. Great food with Wine as an essential part. Vietnamese/Western Seafood and Tapas. Relaxed and Quite surroundings off the beaten track.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to have a romantic meal on our last night in Vietnam and this place fitted the bill perfectly. The weather was kind so we took advantage of the beautiful courtyard (having liberally applied deet before-hand otherwise I suspect it would have been slightly less blissful!).

Our food was delicious, service was friendly and, more importantly not slow (yay!), drinks were good, and despite the upmarket surroundings it wasn't hugely expensive.

Definitely worth a look if you're looking for somewhere a bit special for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiaRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    58
    23
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service - What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We walked passed here on our way back to our Hotel, and the front is attractive, with very enticing menu choices displayed outside. Once we had eaten here once we returned a further 3 times, once for lunch and twice more for dinner, as we tried other eateries in Hoi An, but they just could not compare to the wonderful food, and friendly service given here. Karl the owner chef could not be more welcoming, and he was more than willing to substitute some things on the menu for others if requested. The baked scallops were ordered more than once, and were sublime on both occassions, the deep fried sardines were wonderful too. We tried a large variety of dishes on our visits here a mixture of vietnamese and western and everytime they were perfectly cooked and piping hot. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and cant understand some of the negative comments by previous contributors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great food :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

What attracted me to that restaurant was the appearance of the outdoor seating area. The food was really good, good portions (not to big - not to small). Good service. You can observe the street life and things going on the riverbank.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“...exploring Vietnam January 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Brasserie Cava is set in front of the Thu Bon River, it is easy to be captured by its soft atmosphere and mainly by the quality of its food. The Swedish chief prepares his dishes under your eye -if you look at the kitchen from the relaxing garden- and his results are close to the sublime. We loved his touch of mixing traditional Vietnamese ingredients in both western and southeastern Asia dishes.
This is the place where to eat in town!
Anna Nerina & Chris

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anna nerina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Garden setting, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate here our first night in Hoi An and ended up there again the second night, by default as we went to Mango Mango next door and were so shocked by the prices (cannot understand how those could be justified in the context of Hoi An and given the superb food on offer in other restaurants), so we escaped to Brasserie Cava.

The setting in the garden and ground floor of a house are lovely and it is most pleasant in the evening. There are some interesting cocktails on offer and, although alcohol light as is so common in Vietnam, they were refreshing. The menu is a mixture of Vietnamese and Western and we managed to sample a mixture of both. The Vietnamese seafood dishes were superb and the burger was also very good.

The service was patchy, it was certainly better the first night that we were there than the second, and there was also one waitress who had virtually no English which, unfortunately, is rather an essential these days in such a touristy town. Overall it was a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAVA Restaurant & WineCafe also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to CAVA Restaurant & WineCafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing