We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked out”
Review of Green Field Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Field Hotel
Ranked #234 of 283 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked 2 nights accomodation in a hurry to this hotel presently surpisred by the price. We had an airport transfer which waited for us even though our flight was late (driver was very friendly and spoke enough english to maintain a conversation). Upon arrival to the hotel we could already see the pictures they shown online eggagerate the hotels quality and size. The location is great just a short walk to the old village. The hotel makes you leave your key at reception every time you leave. The pool appeared green (may have been wall colour but we weren't game to check) The hotel has no elevator. Wifi was reasonable, staff friendly. The bathroom was...interesting.

We met with friends for dinner which resulted in a big night out. We returned to the hotel at approximately 130am to find it shut down, there was a big gate out the front and a padlock on the front door and all the ground floor lights off. There was a door bell however it didn't work. After spending the night on our friends hotel floor we returned to Greenfields and mentioned the fact no one told us the hotel closed (or that it was explained upon arrival), the reception staff didnt seem to care or understand.

would only reccomend if you were on a shoestring budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moknat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 492 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked in a hurry and booked a garden room for one at $18 a night, for the same for 2 people it was $19 a night. They charged us $22 a night and no garden view, we got a street view. The pool was not available at all on the first night, told that it would be usable the next day, it looked like a mud bath, the 3rd day it was green and has been for many months, have read other peoples comments, it hasnt changed. Clearly these people dont clean the pool and dont really care about their paying customers. We did get a refund, but only because we did comment about the pool condition. So if you are looking for a place to stay with a pool, DONT STAY HERE.
They have had time to fix the problem but havent bothered to.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you want a clean pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked one night as we thought we would get a night train the following night. We booked it quite a bit in advance and for the main reason it had a pool. We were told it would be fixed by the following day and after deciding to book an extra night and to fly instead of getting a night train we were disappointed again when they said the pool was still broken and never offered a discount, in fact charged us more than we were originally quoted. Other than that the travel desk staff were great when they helped us book flights and organised a trip to cham island to snorkel. It's close to hoi an centre and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel and it isn't as gorgeous as the picture advertises. The restaurant was under construction (which is right beside the pool) so we weren't really up for swimming. That being said, our room was quite big, clean and had a big balcony. Staff were helpful and suggested a great tailor and helped book our easy rider to Hue and our tour in Halong Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed here twice in a dorm room which is $7 per night. Compared to some places, I feel that the price should have been lower. The first dorm I was in stank of mould and mildew and with no a/c was very hot. The second room was much better but still basic. I spoke to some other travellers who told me that the actual hotel rooms are a lot nicer but I can't vouch for this. The location is okay, a little out of town, but means you are closer to Cua Dai beach (rent a bicycle or motorbike)...Why Not Bar is closest bar within walking distance and has pretty good drink deals..
The pictures of the hotel look way nicer than it actually looks although its still not bad and the pool is quite nice. They serve free cocktails between 6-7pm, though I could hardly taste the alcohol!

All in all, I will probably stay here again but mainly because there are no cheaper alternatives for a lone traveller.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the dorms and get a room with a/c - just pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we stayed with friends one night in this hotel.
room not clean, dirty pool, bar in work, poor quality bed.
You will find for the same price much better
only the food is not bad. pictures do not correspond at all to the hotel
advice find another hotel

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank goba_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a good hotel, popular with backpackers. Don't stay here if you are a family. There is a pool, which is ok. It's a fair distance from both the beach and the town so it's a bit of a pain to walk to either but they hire bikes and mopeds. The rooms are good value if you can get a single or a double room. We got a triple room and as there was 3 of us that was ideal. Our friends paid the same for a dorm room and this place isn't really set up for dorms so avoid them or haggle for a discount. There is a free cocktail happy hour but I'm fairly certain there wasn't any alcohol in the cocktails. Friendly staff who are willing to help with travel plans. All the usual facilities, wifi, Internet computers, showers and toilets for use when you are waiting for a bus or train after you have checked out.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TravellerTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Field Villa and Spa
Hoi An Field Villa and Spa
#105 of 159 in Hoi An
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 159 in Hoi An
695 reviews
1.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DK's Hotel
DK's Hotel
#97 of 159 in Hoi An
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Green Field Villas
Hoi An Green Field Villas
#174 of 283 in Hoi An
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Field Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Field Hotel

Address: 432 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: $17 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Field Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-star hotel, located in the center of Hoi An Town with well-appointed rooms, swimming pool and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green Field Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Field Hoi An
Hotel Green Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing