We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rather tired backpackers delight” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Field Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Field Hotel
Ranked #204 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rather tired backpackers delight”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Bit of a disappointment initially on arrival.Had picked out another hotel and but pursuaded to book here instead by moon travel Hue insisting that hotels were in short supply in Hoi an and this was "upmarket" . The pictures certainly better than reality. The place is older than expected and is in need of renovation. No elavator! Bathrom while adequate was mouldy and had a musty smell.Booked a deluxe room with a pool balcony and pool view but shown another and admittedly had the room changed to a balcony at the front of the hotel without too much fuss although they refused to offer the pool view balcony room as "booked". This was noticeably noisy ; a good reason to avail oneself of those cocktails.
Breakfast is included with limited options and restaurant seems to only be used by guests for this meal only.On my departure which was before the designated meal time I had problems in organising a token meal to replace a full brekky and this was put in the too hard basket!.
Free airport transfer a bonus. Staff pleasant and polite and noticeably courteous when observed dealing with a few complaints from others.
Free cocktails a hit with most backpackers (20 to 30 yrs ) making up the majority of the clientele of this hotel who feel that the hotel is a bargain as long as they get the right rate.
Bikes I was expecting to be free but they are only a dollar and necesary if you plan to venture the distance to the city more than once a day.Free internet in lobby good!
Overall the staff seem to do a good job with what they have!

Room Tip: Have a look first and discuss options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfieldhotelhoian, General Manager at Green Field Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Carey Faucett,

Warm greetings from the Green Field Hotel -- We hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards from our property!

We want to sincerely thank you for submitting such a detailed review of your stay with us. We heavily rely on the feedback of our guests to understand how to create memorable experiences with them and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us this feedback.

We are very sorry to inform you that The Moon Travel just booked you our Standard Room (Room 110 which you stayed is our Standard Rooom) not Deluxe room as you mentioned.
Please be careful when booking any hotel from any travel agency next time.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on what you enjoyed most about your stay and what aspects of your stay could have been improved. We appreciate the encouraging words about our staff, internet, airport transfer offerings, but will take your suggestions about the breakfast, bathroom into serious consideration.

We hope that we will be welcoming in your return in the future, as we would be pleased to have the opportunity to serve you better.

With warm regards,

Regards,
Tran Quang Thien/Mr.
General Manager
==============================================
GREEN FIELD HOTEL
423 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam
qthientran@greenfieldhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    85
    99
    91
    110
See reviews for
33
187
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

A night stay which lasted a week and on leaving I realised the daily room cleaners who did a very poor job of cleaning in fact stole in excess of £200 in various currencies from my ‘other currency wallet’. They also miscalculated my final bill so I suggest being particular about it at the time. Although they were amiable to pay me back. No card facilities either. I had previously recommended this hotel for its damp, musky but cheap rooms and its sociable cocktail hour – with a warning you better like peach flavoured cocktails as that is all that is on offer. If you dare to stay there heed my warning to keep your personals on you and your expectations low for South East Asia. The dorm rooms are rather basic and cleanliness comes secondary to the fact there is a (dirty) pool. In my experience it is the worst hotel in South East Asia after 3 months of travel. If you like free stuff they give you a mouldy wallet with Greenfield Hotel embroidered on it. Bikes for a $1 are great. Good Luck!

Room Tip: 301 is very damp smelling and the tv has bad coverage. You have to climb into the shower over a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJoBloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfieldhotelhoian, General Manager at Green Field Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and sorry for all inconvenience caused.

However, we really don’t understand why you said that our cleaners stole your wallet?
- You didn’t inform us your wallet was stolen at the time you checked out.
- After 1 hour of check out, you came back the hotel from a shoes shop and informed you have lost your wallet and asked our staff to contact a shoes shop and a spa which you visited to ask if you have left your wallet there. They all didn’t see your wallet.
- You are unsure who stole your wallet (our cleaners, shoes staff or spa staff), so why did you write this review and insist our cleaners stole your wallet?

Yes, it would be great to get both good and bad reviews as it is a great way to improve our service. However, your review is not only ruin our reputation but also not help other travellers.

Regards,
Tran Quang Thien/Mr.
General Manager
==============================================
GREEN FIELD HOTEL
423 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights, was a pleasant stay, nice rooms, ok pool and enjoyed the free cocktails in the evening! They advised us about the local tailors and we have come back with some lovely made to fit clothes! Bit of a walk to the old town but it's definitely do able, very friendly staff, would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natassamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very good location, near to most major area. Hotel saff was efficient and good, helped us find back our camera which was left in the plane to Hanoi. The room is spacious and clean. We would stay here again in my next visit to Hoi An.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Anyone intending to travel to Hoian should seriously consider the Green Field hotel. Centrally located, its convenient and value for money for families. We got a family for four and we're very pleased with the hotel staff service and various facilities. We would probably chose Green Field again if we were to travel there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenlei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Spent 3 nights in Green Field Hotel and knew we were booking a budget hotel, and that is what it is-- excellent value, clean room, excellent shower and good breakfast choice!!! would have no hesitation in using it again-- exactly what it says it is-- value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KHee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have stayed here 3 times in last 5 years.Quality has been uniformly good. Clean room and reasonable prices. Important reminder, pls do not take any taxi or motocycle in-front of the hotel!!! If need any, just get help from the front desk. They are helpful especially Mr THIEN. And a big thank you to all of the breakfast staff because they all had a good smile and that made our holiday in HA worth while. See you all next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brossmann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#96 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#107 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Field Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Field Hotel

Property: Green Field Hotel
Address: 432 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Field Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-star hotel, located in the center of Hoi An Town with well-appointed rooms, swimming pool and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Green Field Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Field Hoi An
Hotel Green Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing