We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive farming experience”

Tra Que Water Wheel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the famous herb village, Tra Que Water Wheel restaurant is a rustic-designed, restored, traditional Vietnamese building. Here you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings while you watch the farmers at work tending their produce.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interactive farming experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lily picked us up at our hotel on time. We decided not to ride bikes because our children were nervous about riding in the road with all the traffic. We took a cab and met Lily at the farm. When we toured the farm there were few other tourists there. We enjoyed learning about farming and participated in the planting/watering of the vegetables. Lily had a great sense of humor and eventually even got our grumpy tween to crack a smile. We did not participate in a cooking class because we had already made arrangements for a class somewhere else the following day. The lunch that was served to us was beautifully plated with a lot of fresh herbs and tasted delicious. After lunch the kids enjoyed playing on the water wheel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank free-heelinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    114
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day best in Hoi An”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a great day at the Tra Que Water Wheel, my wife and I took part in the cooking class which was taken by Lilly. The setting was beautiful and matched by the humour and easy going nature of lilly and the team. We highly recommend this experience for beautiful food and stunning setting, easily the best meal we had in Hoi An.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Trip to Vietnam!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We did the cooking class and it was AMAZING! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Hoi An. We didn't want to bike in the heat so our cooking instructor met us at our hotel in a taxi. Visiting the farm was amazing and our class was so much fun and the food was the best I had in my trip to Vietnam. They were so kind and welcoming and the class was just me and my friend and the instructor. We made tons of different recipes and got to personalize our dishes. It was great to be cooking outdoors on a farm versus inside at a restaurant. Learned a lot about Vietnamese cooking. Was truly one of the best parts of our trip to Vietnam.

PS I'm vegetarian and they were extremely accommodating!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahManner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed this cooking experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We didn't want to do the cycle tour to the market etc so Helen met us at our hotel and arranged a taxi for us out to the garden. On arrival we were served a refreshing lime drink and given ice cold flannels which is heaven on 38 degree day. Then a tour through the garden which was interesting even if you aren't that into gardening.
Over the morning we prepared and cooked 4 different dishes which we then got to eat, it was all so fresh and tasty. Helen was a real "live wire" and such a lot of fun, we will certainly remember this day as one of the highlights of our trip.
Tip: I carried a fold up umbrella which was much cooler than wearing a sunhat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cooking class with trimmings”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Excellent afternoon spent leaning about herbs, spices and how to cook (and eat) true Vietnamese ware. Village is hundreds of years old. Guides were entertaining and learned and spoke very good English. Well worth the visit. One of our great days in Vietnam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Water Wheel also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Water Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing