We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice spot in Hoi An”

Tra Que Water Wheel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the famous herb village, Tra Que Water Wheel restaurant is a rustic-designed, restored, traditional Vietnamese building. Here you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings while you watch the farmers at work tending their produce.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a nice spot in Hoi An”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A nice spot in our biking tour. you will see the locals working on and some nice veg farms . but you have to buy ticket to come in and if you would like to go deeper to the field, the farmers will not welcome.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    115
    26
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Real fun even for people who grew up with a farming background”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The family I was traveling with already had a lot of farming experiences including an uncle who majored farming in trade school. Even with that, we had a lot of fun at the Tre Que herb village which is essentially an organic farm. The hands-on experiences going into the fields were great. The cooking class was harder than it looks but fun. The lunch was wonderful! Very glad that we went!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go on your Own!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Try and visit the villiage sometime after 2pm or combine it with a visit to the Waterwheel Resturant for lunch. Dont go on organised tours in the morning as this place is overcrowded. We took a taxi from Hoi An to the village at around 1pm and wondered through the deserted rows of beatiful sented herbs and flowers. We came across the Waterwheel and sat down for drink when the owner came and offered to show us around the herb gardens giving us all the smells and tastes which were glorious - and only the three of us in the whole place. We decided to eat at the Waterwheel and again the food was great with the chef cutting the herbs as required for our lunch right there in front of us! Around 2 pm the gardener then start work - without the tourists!! and we sat and watched them work away using their ancient tools over what was a very good lunch. The gardens are around 4 km from Hoi An so we walked back along the main road which took us around 40 minutes but you could always go by bike!!! Well worth the visit (in the afternoon!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SMBJWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something different in Hoi An”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hire a bicycle to ride here, we didn't bother with a tour. Its great to see the local people tending the herbs. We had a speciality tea at the new restaurant, very refreshing! We'll go back to eat there as the menu looked good and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueb777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brumejum
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's worth every penny do it !!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were picked up from the hotel at a time to suit us by the lovely Hien, we cycled to the market where she explained about all the fish, meat and vegetables. We got to try some home produced pickles and sauces. It was very informative and we had a really good laugh. We bought what we needed for the cooking and then cycled to the Tracy Que Herb Village past all the paddy fields and we stopped for photos and she showed us where they gather the seaweed to fertilise the soil. We cycled into the village and I actually felt overwhelmed, it is the most beautiful vegetable garden I have ever seen. We had a welcome drink and then a little tour and a taste of the herbs and veg. It's all organically farmed and seems to be a co operative as there were lots of elderly gardeners who lived there. We then collected the herbs and leaves we needed for lunch. We were given our crisp fresh chef whites and along with Chef Lynn we were chop chop assistants for her and she cooked for us, although we didn't do any of the cooking we assembled the dishes and learnt how to make decorations. It was very good and I think I learnt more than when I did the cooking in a class in Thailand, as you have to do it so quickly in your panic you hardly take it in. My husband and I had such a good time. I would do it again and again and we will return for lunch here if we can it is gorgeous, it is also spotlessly clean. There is a quirky water wheel a replica of one used in the fields before they became automatic, I won't spoil it but its utterly charming.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hillbillyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Que Water Wheel also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Tra Que Water Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing