We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with a Lovely Roof-Top Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Ranked #51 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with a Lovely Roof-Top Pool”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in the Vinh Hung 3 for three days as part of a G Adventures tour and I have to say it is a beautiful place, as nice a hotel as I have stayed in in the whole 2 months of my trip.to SE Asia.
It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are quaint and pleasant, it is safe as houses and full of beaming smiles from the helpful staff.
It is about 5-10 minutes pleasant walk from the main Old Quarter on a winding street made up almost exclusively of hotels, bars and restaurants - a lovely part of town. And my God, what a lovely town Hoi An is - absolutley magnificent. Right outside the hotel there are bikes for hire from the laundry, they cost only 2 US Dollars per day and they are the PERFECT way to see Hoi An and all its charm.
Anyway, back to the hotel. The breakfast is really excellent here with a great selection and omelettes made individually for you and in front of you by a fantastic friendly chef.
As I mentioned in the title, the hotel has a lovely roof-top pool which is a great place to chill out - though there is nothing chilly about it as Hoi An can be hot, hot ,hot!
Make sure you do a river cruise at sunset, the views are spectacular and it is a great way to get a real insight into local life. The hotel will help arrange it for you or just potter down to the dock and do your own bartering. We paid 10 dollars for the boat so among four of us, it was hardly anything!
So a fantastic hotel in a fantastic town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    352
    96
    21
    5
See reviews for
151
535
123
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location near the markets and shops but away from the crowds. The service was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a great size, the only draw back being the lovely view of a brick wall! Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel, great price, friendly service, good breakfast and gorgeous pool on the roof!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Vinh Hung Three for three nights in a superior room and we could not find fault with anything about the hotel or the service.

We opted for a superior room which was spacious and really nicely decorated with dark wood furniture, it also had a balcony with a lovely view overlooking Hoi An.

The room was clean and comfy with a flat screen TV/come computer with free internet access in the room.

The location was excellent, there were bars and restaurants as soon as you come out of the hotel and the picturesque river front was around a ten minute walk away.

The breakfast was a really good buffet service with a large selection of juices, fruit, cereal, eggs cooked to order, toast, Vietnamese food and more.

The staff here really made the stay and welcomed us every time we returned back to the hotel. They were so friendly and helpful and really went out of their way. We also arranged a private driver to take us to Hue through the hotel. It was $60 which we thought was reasonable considering we had read elsewhere it would cost around $80 for the three hour drive. The car was comfortable and new and we had a really pleasant journey.

We also arranged a day trip to My Son via the hotel for $8 each which included a coach to the site, English speaking tour guide, a boat back to Hoi An stopping at a handicraft village on the way, and lunch on board. My Son was fascinating and the guide was excellent and it is well worth doing this trip if you have the time.

We really could not recommend this hotel enough, thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The superior room is excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent one whole week here. I booked the hotel on Agoda because it had a pool but never expected to get so much more. Yes the roof top pool is a great way to relax after a day walking around ''The Old Town'' but to come back to such a warm welcome from all the staff here was such a nice surprise. Everyone is friendly, from the guy outside who looks after the bikes to the lovely staff in the restaurant in the mornings and especially all the staff working in reception. I have to say LyLy, Vanessa, Julia and Andy were just amazing. (I must say a special thank you to Rain -Andy who showed me a different side to Hoi An)

The room was great. The best room is at the back on the 3rd floor. It has a great view and soft beds. The showers in the bathrooms are also really great with hot water. Rooms cleaned everyday by the friendly cleaning staff.

Only a short walk to the old town and plenty of food choices around. The restaurant across the road Giddino - I think it's called- has great food and the people there are really nice too. I am having breakfast there tomorrow. Their delicious banana pancakes with chocolate and an ice coffee. YUM!

I loved everything about this place, not one complaint and I will defiantly stay here again if I come back to Hoi An again.

I wish everyone at Vinh Hung 3 the best of luck and hope to see you again in the future.

XX Renee

Room Tip: a room at the back has a balcony and is quite with a nice view. The beds are soft for Vietnamese sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naybusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in a superior room during our week long stay @ $40 per night

Recommendations: pay the extra for a superior room as they have windows. Ask for a room not overlooking the street.

Pros:
great location in easy walking distance on old town, tailors, river
Great breakfast: selection fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, eggs cooked to order.
Air con& hot water always worked
Large clean bathroom with rainforest shower
Dressing gowns provided

Negatives: our room was on the 3rd floor opposite the street which was very noisy - needed earplugs to get a good nights sleep

Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very beautiful and modern hotel, very good value for a low price.
Rooms were extremely clean and large and romantic, the swimming pool on the roof was fantastic.
The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming, they really cared about our wellness and helped us reserving the trip to My Son temples and the bus to Hue at a reasonable price.
We stayed in Vihn Hung 3, but the property has 2 other hotels, a resort on the beach and a restaurant. All the locations are in a walking distance to visit the ancient town.
Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it, we were also welcomed with a fresh towel on arrival.
I will definitely come back next time!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSereB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, we expected something better as we paid more than we had in other hotels in Vietnam. First of all, the big fat minus is that there are no lifts...and we were on the 4th floor. Secondly, the staff at reception were really bland and just seemed like they couldn't be bothered most of the time. There were always about 6 people sitting at or around reception though I never really understood their function. Don't get me wrong, they weren't rude or anything, but by Vietnamese standards (ie super friendly,polite and efficient, drinks on arrival) they just didn't quite meet the standard (especially since this was a more expensive hotel than others we'd stayed in where service was much better). One day we asked the receptionist if she could print our flight tickets out but we stopped after the first one had been printed as she seemed a bit flustered by the task.
The room was average, not very big but at least we had a window. However, the toilet smelled a little funny, as if there may have been a slight sewage problem (we didn't say anything because it really wasn't that bad). The best thing about the hotel was the small swimming pool on the terrace which we really made good use of after a sweaty day. Also the cleaners seem to be very thorough and breakfast was buffet which was a relief after many days of only egg and toast.
A tip for getting to the airport, if you don't want to take the public bus but don't want to pay for a taxi (think it was about 20 dollars maybe but not sure), it helps to shop around in various travel agencies for a private car. Prices vary a lot but the cheapest we found was 12 dollars (in the hotel it cost more but can't remember how much more).
And in case the manager is reading this, I saw your other replies to travellers and if you want to ask me my real name to find out what day I was there and who was working those days, there is no need. I don't want staff individuals to be told off as I think the problem is a more general one (ie maybe some training on more friendly and efficient service would help).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaczebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dzung-VH3, Owner at Vinh Hung Library Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review about the services at Vinh Hung 3 hotel and we are really sorry that we don't have your name to say for a polite letter!
We want to explain you that some reviews are out of our control to check the name of guest stayed because we have 24 rooms with 30-40 paxs per day, so it was a very difficult for us to find. Of course, you always have a right to say no from our asking for personal information likes your name etc ....
Like this review, we only have 3 rooms on the 4th floor, we checked for 2 weeks recently but no information concerns about you.... We are always listen to the comment about good or bad service from our customers and then having an improvement and enhancement the services for more better. Therefore, we hope you understand us.

Regards,

Dzung/Mr.
Owner of Vinh Hung 3 hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#43 of 147 in Hoi An
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#69 of 147 in Hoi An
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#9 of 147 in Hoi An
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Library Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Address: 96 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 3 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vinh Hung Library Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vinh Hung Library Hotel is proud to offer 26 spacious, elegant and contemporary Asian designed rooms, artfully decorated with dark woods and local craftwork. Renovated in 2014, our hotel now incorporates a library of books our guests can relax with and enjoy. Each of our delightful rooms offer air conditioning, complimentary in room WIFI, flat screen cable TV and a marble tiled bathroom complete with monsoon shower! Some rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of beautiful Hoi An, a mere 5 minute stroll from the old town and the famous Ancient Japanese Covered Bridge. Relax by the only roof top swimming pool and sundeck in town and take a refreshing dip overlooking the rooftops of Hoi An. If you want to escape the town for the day, Cua Dai and An Bang Beaches are within easy reach, a 10 minute ride away, just ask at reception to arrange a taxi (car or motorbike!). Bicycle rental is available at the hotel. A buffet style breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Airport transfers and tours can be arranged by the hotel, and the travel desk can advise you of onward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vinh Hung Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing