We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, great location”
Review of Thien Nga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thien Nga Hotel
Ranked #111 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
brumejum
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, great location”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked on line for one night and stayed for 4. Rooms at the back are lovely with a balcony over looking fields of water spinach. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very good omelettes, boiled eggs, breads, jams, and honey.lots of great exotic fruits and great coffee although the don't do Pho, they get their own from round the corner and it was gorgeous. It's close to town and they hire out bikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillbillyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    122
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
143
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed here for one night and the cost was $42 a night including breakfast. The room over looked the rear rice paddies and was lovely from that perspective, however there is better value out there in Hoi an. The room itself was okay. The shower had broken tiles.You could not open the door at night due to mosquitoes so it was warm without any window open. The breakfast was good, one of the better ones on our nearly month in Vietnam. Shop around as better value out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sthcoastnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked into the Thien Nga for three nights and wound up staying for a week. Had a room at the back of the building which gives a wonderful view of the fields at the back. Everything was great from start to finish. This place is sparkling clean - much cleaner than your own home (unless of course you wash your bedroom floor every day and the rest of the floors two or three times). The rooms are very large and comfortable with good air conditioning, a lovely view, and a little fridge with cold beer for a buck each. The staff is very accommodating and will give you all the information you need without trying to push their own tours. Free internet in the lobby with a whole bank of desktops. The breakfasts were terrific - try the semi-sludgy Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk. Eggs or omelettes cooked to order. Best thing though was the fresh pineapple pancakes. A previous review mentioned an exorbitant rate for rental bicycles. Nonsense. A buck a day same as everywhere else. Location just a small distance from the absolute centre of town but no problem for us. Do yourself a favour - stay here, rent a bike, then cruise the surrounding area by day, dine in the incredible restaurants of Hoi An in the evening, wake up the next day and have the Thien Nga's incredible breakfast, then do it all over again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We found this hotel via a Lonely Planet recommendation. It is located just outside of the old town of Hoi An and is a walkable or quick bike ride to the centre. We paid $25 USD for a room with 1 double bed and this included breakfast.

The host is nice, caring albeit slightly intimidating who helped us organise a bus transfer to Hue. The reception staff are friendly helping us with our bags as well as storing our hired bikes inside the hotel overnight.

The room is very clean, spacious and decorated with asian style furniture. The shower was powerful, which is rare for South East Asia! There is a nice range of breakfast options and topical fruit however weak plunger coffee (not a fan). The wifi and laptops were fast and reliable. Overall this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This has been a lovely stay. We have been staying in a connecting room with family. The rooms are very clean, always fresh and with lots of natural light. Ben the hotel manager has been a fantastic help with many tips and organising trips. The location fantastic and we are very happy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotajones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I looked around at a few places before settling on this hotel. My reason was mainly because they quoted $30 a night and it was the lowest in the basic/budget range. Now that I have stayed there I can say it is an okay hotel with basic facilities and a nice breakfast but I wouldn't say it was worth $30, let alone the $35 a night they actually charged me on checking out. When I paid I found they had actually wrote a different amount down on the bit of paper that they use when I checked in so I wasn't impressed! I didn't argue the point as it is just one of those things in Vietnam you come to accept. If it hadn't been for the rip off it might have scored an average but I still don't think it is worth $30 let alone $35!

If I am honest I should have chosen to stay at Sunshine Hotel as they quoted me $35 that's how I clearly remember the agreed price at Thien Nga. Even though it was further out Sunshine seemed a much nicer hotel. It looked a lot cleaner, with better facilities and I am sure would have had a lot better sleep quality.

As an added note separate from the hotel if you take the bus to Da Nang from Bến xe buýt Hội An bus station don't pay more than 15,000 to 18,000 VND. They will try to charge you 50,000VND but they are trying to rip you off like a lot of other people around Vietnam. The rip off culture really leaves a sour taste and is the reason why I don't think I could ever return to Vietnam again, such a shame as we had some great experiences. If you go just accept that every day at least 2-3 people will try and rip you off. I guess it isn't personal it is just in some peoples' nature when dealing with tourists to make money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollieAdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room had a balcony overlooking the garden next door, the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the ancient town and the service was excellent. They arranged my onward flight and hotel for me. Also the room had a DVD player so I could watch the DVDs that I 'd bought in hoi an.
For an extra fee, they met me at Danang airport and drove me to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylies308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#93 of 155 in Hoi An
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#110 of 155 in Hoi An
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 155 in Hoi An
1,194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#126 of 155 in Hoi An
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#46 of 155 in Hoi An
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Nga Hotel

Property: Thien Nga Hotel
Address: 52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thien Nga Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Nga Hotel, located in Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, is a popular choice for travelers. The city center is merely 0.5 Km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Cao Dai Pagoda, Phac Hat Pagoda, Cam Pho Temple. The facilities and services provided by Thien Nga Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in all rooms, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, car park, bicycle rental to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include internet access - wireless (complimentary), refrigerator, desk, television, air conditioning, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. Thien Nga Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Hoi An, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Nga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Nga Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing